Home   »   Union Territories and Their Capitals 2022

Union Territories and Their Capitals 2022

Union Territories and Their Capitals 2022

Union Territories and Their Capitals of India: The republic of India which got independence on 15th August 1947 was a new nation, a lot was need to be done, the time of independence witnessed utter chaos, it was the time when states were reorganizing ,new states were being added and the constitution was halfway from its completion.

Regulating the 7th largest and second most populous state was not easy hence the states and union territories were made for control and coordination.

9 Union Territories and Their Capitals

Union territories are basically a type of administrative unit which are governed by the Union Government of India, Lieutenant Governors  which are elected by the President of India  work as their administrators. UTs except Delhi and Puducherry have no representation in Rajyasabha. currently India have 8 Union Territories.

Union Territories and Their Capitals

Union Territory Capital Date of Establishment Lt. Governor/Administrator
Andaman and Nicobar Islands Port Blair 1 November 1956 Admiral D. K. Joshi (Lieutenant Governor)
Chandigarh Chandigarh 1 November 1966 V.P. Singh Badnore (Administrator)
Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu Daman 26 January 2020 Praful Patel (Administrator)
Delhi New Delhi 1 November 1956 Anil Baijal (Lieutenant Governor)
Jammu and Kashmir Sri Nagar (Summer) Jammu (Winter) 31 October 2019 Manoj Sinha (Lieutenant Governor)
Ladakh Leh (Summer) Kargil (Winter) 31 October 2019 Radha Krishna Mathur (Lieutenant Governor)
Lakshadweep Kavaratti 1 November 1956 Praful Patel (Administrator)
Puducherry Puducherry/Pondicherry 16 August 1962 Dr. Tamilisai Soundararajan (Addl. Charge) (Lieutenant Governor)

Check: Largest State in India by Population

Why Union Territories were formed

At the time of State Reorganization in 1956 it was observed that some parts needed special attention  as they  didn’t fit in the model of state owing to the reasons as economically unbalance, financial weakness, and administrative and political instability. so instead of individual governance they became part of union Government and hence called Union Territory .

Types of UT’s in India

In India, there are two types of Union Territories. They are as follows:

  1. Union Territories with Legislature: Delhi, Jammu and Kashmir, and Puducherry.
  2. Union Territories without Legislature: Andaman and Nicobar, Chandigarh, Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu, Ladakh, and Lakshadweep.

Facts to Consider About Union Territories

  • The first union territory of India was Andaman and Nicobar island
  •  Chandigarh is the joint capital of Punjab and Haryana state of India.
  •  Andaman and Nicobar, Delhi, Jammu and Kashmir, Ladakh, and Puducherry are controled by Lieutenant governor
  • Chandigarh, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu, and Lakshadweep have Administrators.
  • Article 239 empowers President of India to be  the Chief Administrator of the Union Territories.
  • Puducherry share its boundary with both western and eastern coast.

Difference Between State and Union Territory

  •  Union territory is governed by the central government or union government whereas, state has a separate governing body
  • The constitutional head of the state is a Governor while the UT’s executive head is the President of India.
  • The Chief Minister chosen by the people administers the State while the Union Territory is governed by an administrator or Lieutenant Governor elected by the President of India.
  • In terms of Size, States are much larger compared to the Union Territories of India.

Also Check

Capital of Assam Capital of Himachal Pradesh Capital of Uttar Pradesh

Union Territories and Their Capitals 2022: FAQs

Q1. How many union territories are there in India in 2020?

 Ans. India has 8 union territories since 26th Jan 2020.

Q2. Which is the newly added Union Territories in India?

 Ans. Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh have newly added to the list of Union Territories of India.

Q3. Which Union Territories have been united into a single Union Territory in 2020?

 Ans. In 2020, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, and Daman and Diu were united into a single UT & known as Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu.


Union Territories and Their Capitals 2022_40.1

Thank You, Your details have been submitted we will get back to you.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.