Home   »   What is the Capital of Himanchal...

What is the Capital of Himanchal Pradesh ?

Capital of Himanchal Pradesh

Situated at the extreme north ,the state of Himachal is a dream destination for every person who loves the serene mountains and snow clad hills, the state of Himanchal is rich in its forest trasures and the lofty snow clad mountains ,seems like a peace of heaven hanging down from the sky ,the hill state famous for its tourist attraction also tops the sustainable development goals ranking  of 2021 , currently Himanchal pradesh is the proud owner of two capitals 

  1. Shimla
  2.  Dharamshala

Summer Capital of Himanchal Pradesh- Shimla

The very first  Capital of Himanchal Pradesh  is “Shimla” which is known as the summer capital of Himachal Pradesh. It was declared as the summer capital by British India in 1864. Strung out along a 12km ridge, with steep forested hillsides falling away in all directions, the Himachal capital is a good appetite-whetter for the awe-inspiring mountain tracts of the state’s interior.

Shimla is one of India’s most popular hill resorts, buzzing with a happy flow of Indian vacationers and full of relics of its previous life as the summer capital of British India. Traffic is banned from the central part of town, so walking is pleasant – even when huffing and puffing uphill. The long, winding main street, the Mall, runs east and west just below the spine of the hill.Snow-capped Himalayan peaks and green pastures surround Shimla, the capital of Himachal Pradesh.  

Shimla was  also a retreat destination for Mahatma Gandhi, who frequented a Georgian mansion in Shimla’s suburbs from the mid-1930s to ’40s.

What is the Capital of Himanchal Pradesh ?_40.1

Winter Capital of Himanchal Pradesh- Dharamshala

The .Second capital of Himanchal is “Dharmasala” which is an upcoming smart city, the tourist town and also the hometown of Tibetan Spiritual Leader Dalai Lama, it was declared as winter capital on 19 January 2017, by Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh. Lying in the shadow of Dhauladhar range the beautiful city of Dharamshala is home to many Tourist attractions ,including the quaint town of mcleodganj .

Need for the second Capital

The main reason for adding up the second capital is considered to be its difficulty in organizing winter and summer session of assembly/parliament/congress at the same place due to unbearable climatic conditions as Shimla receives heavy amount of snowfall on winters.Beside this ,25 out of 68 Assembly seats falls in Kangra(most populated District), Una and Hamirpur region. These areas also hold a comparatively larger population than other districts .

These districts lie very close to Dharamshala, so it would be convenient for the administration in these districts to have Dharamshala as their capital because earlier they had to go to Shimla for every work which would take approx 6 hours at least.but now  administration is easy in the hills .

What is the Capital of Himanchal Pradesh: FAQs

Q1. How many capitals Himanchal has?

Ans .Himanchal has Two capitals.

Q2. Which is the summer capital of Himanchal Pradesh?

Ans. Shimla is the summer capital of Himanchal ‘

Q3. Which is the second Capital Of Himanchal?

Ans. Dharamshala is the second Capital of Himanchal.


Thank You, Your details have been submitted we will get back to you.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.