Home   »   List of Chief Ministers of Tripura...

List of Chief Ministers of Tripura (1963-2022)

Chief Ministers of Tripura (1963-2022)

First chief minister of Tripura was Sachindra Lal Singh who served from 1st July 1963 to 1st November 1971 and the incumbent Chief Minister of Tripura is Biplab Kumar Deb who took the oath as the Chief Minister of Tripura for the 12th Assembly (2018-22) on March 9, 2018 and with this he also became the youngest CM of Tripura. On the other hand, Jishnu Dev Varma sworn-in as the Deputy Chief Ministers of Tripura.

Initially, Tripura was accorded the status of a ‘C’ category state on January 26, 1950 but after a while it was recognized as a Union Territory in November in the same year. With the constant pressure of public and their struggle, Tripura gained full statehood on January 21, 1972 under the North-East Reorganization Act, 1971 and furthermore, Three-tier Panchayati Raj System was also introduced in the state in 1978.

List of Chief Ministers of Tripura (1963-2022), Complete List_40.1

On the other hand, Autonomous District Council (ADC) was constituted in 1982 under the 7th Schedule of Indian Constitution which later on, brought under the 6th Schedule in 1985. It was established with the aim of socio-economic development of the state and to preserve language and culture of Tribal population. Autonomous District Council in Tripura covers almost 68.10% of the total geographical territory of the state and almost one third of the population of the state is living in that area.

Tripura encompasses 8 districts, 23 subdivisions, 58 rural development blocks, 591 Gram Panchayats, 8 Jilla Parishads, 9 Nagar Panchayats, 10 Municipal Councils and 1 Municipal Corporation. Addition to that, 587 village committees are working as Gram Panchayats under 6th Schedule areas.

Let’s look into the time period of different CM of Tripura so far and the party they are associated with.

List of Chief Ministers of Tripura (1963-2022)

No. Name of CM Serving Period Name of the Party
1. Sachindra Lal Singh 1 July 1963 to 1 November 1971 Indian National Congress
2. Sukhamoy Sen Gupta 20 March 1972 to 31 March 1977 Indian National Congress
3. Prafulla Kumar Das 1 April 1977 to 25 July 1977 Congress for Democracy
4. Radhika Ranjan Gupta 26 July 1977 to 4 November 1977 Janata Party
5. Nripen Chakraborty 5 January 1978 to 5 February 1988 Communist Party of India (Marxist)
6. Sudhir Ranjan Majumdar 5 February 1988 to 19 February 1992 Indian National Congress (I)
7. Samir Ranjan Barman 19 February 1992 to 10 March 1993 Indian National Congress (I)
8. Dasarath Deb 10 April 1993 to 11 March 1998 Communist Party of India (Marxist)
9. Manik Sarkar 11 March 1998 to 9 March 2018 Communist Party of India (Marxist)
10. Biplab Kumar Deb 9 March 2018 to Incumbent Bharatiya Janata Party


List of Chief Ministers of Tripura (1963-2022), Complete List_50.1

FAQs Related to Chief Minister of Tripura

Q1. Who was appointed as the first CM of tripura?
Ans. Sachindra Lal Singh in  1963 was appointed as the first CM of tripura

Q2. Which CM served for the longest time period in Tripura?
Ans. Manik Sarkar served for the longest time as CM. He was the CM from 11 March 1998 to 9 March 2018.

Q3. Who was chosen to become the youngest CM of Tripura?
Ans. Biplab Kumar Deb (at the age of 46)

Thank You, Your details have been submitted we will get back to you.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.