Home   »   Static GK PDF   »   First Prime Minister of India

First Prime Minister of India, Find the List of All PM

Prime Minister of India

“We live in a wonderful world that is full of beauty, charm and adventure. There is no end to the adventures we can have if only we seek them with our eyes open.”

These are the words of our first Prime Minister of India Jawahar Lal Nehru whose vision shaped the modern India we live in today.

First Prime Minister of India

In India, the President is the head of state, but mostly holds ceremonial powers. The Prime Minister is the head of the government. After a political party wins a general election, they nominate their leader for the post of Prime Minister. The President then appoints this nominated leader as the Prime Minister of India. The real power lies with the Council of Ministers, led by the Prime Minister. The majority party or coalition in the Lok Sabha (Lower House of Parliament) chooses the Prime Minister, who is then appointed by the President.

The Prime Minister of India holds a crucial role as the executive head of the central government and leads the cabinet. The true governing authority of the nation is concentrated in this position and the cabinet. Both the Prime Minister and the cabinet are chosen by the people of India and appointed by the President of India. This article focuses on introducing Jawaharlal Nehru, the inaugural Prime Minister of India.

Articles Related to First Prime Minister of India

The following Articles deal with the Prime Minister of India.

  • The executive powers of the Union shall be vested in the president and shall be exercised either directly or through subordinate officers, in accordance with the Constitution.
— Article 53(1), Constitution of India
  • There shall be a Council of Ministers with the Prime Minister at the head to aid and advise the president who shall, in the exercise of his functions, act in accordance with such advice.
— Article 74(1), Constitution of India
  • The Prime Minister shall be appointed by the President and the other Ministers shall be appointed by the President on the advice of the Prime Minister.
— Article 75(1), Constitution of India

First Prime Minister of India : Jawaharlal Nehru

Jawaharlal Nehru was an important revolutionary figure during the struggles for Independence during the middle third of twentieth century.  He was a firm advocate of  parliamentary democracy, secularism, and science and technology. Nehru belonged to a very elite and wealthy family and got educated in England.

DOB 14 Nov 1889
Term as Prime Minister 1946 to 1964
Important Books Glimpses of the world History,
Discovery of India
letters from a father to his daughter.

After Returning to India he served as a barrister in Allahabad High court, he joined congress in 1920s and became congress president in 1929.

Jawaharlal Nehru was deeply engaged in the Indian National Movement, contributing significantly to its momentum. He played a vital role in shaping the movement’s international perspective. In 1929, he outlined the policies of the Congress and envisioned the future of the Indian nation. On January 31, 1929, Nehru marked a historic moment by unfurling the tricolor flag of India on the banks of the Ravi in Lahore. During this event, he passionately read out the Declaration of Independence, symbolizing India’s arduous journey toward freedom. Nehru endured multiple incarcerations during this period and also authored numerous literary works that reflected his vision and dedication to the cause.

On 15th August 1947, the day of India’s Independence he assumed the Office of  Prime Minister with his famous speech “Trust with Destiny“.

Current Prime Minster of India

Narendra Damodardas Modi is the current Prime Minister of India. He is an Indian politician who assumed office as the 14th Prime Minister of India in May 2014. Before serving as Prime Minister, Modi was the Chief Minister of Gujarat from 2001 to 2014. He represents the Varanasi constituency in the Indian Parliament as a Member of Parliament.

List of Prime Minister of India from 1947 to 2024

The Following list provide the list of  all the Prime ministers who served the Sovereign Indian nation and contributed in the largest Democracy of the world.

Prime Minister Name Tenure
Jawahar Lal Nehru 15 Aug 1947 to 27 May 1964
Gulzari Lal Nanda 27 May 1964 to 9 June 1964
Lal Bahadur Shastri 09 Jun 1964 to 11 Jan 1966
Gulzarilal Nanda 11 Jan 1966 to 24 January 1966
Indira Gandhi 24 Jan 1966 to 24 Mar 1977
Morarji Desai 24 Mar 1977 to 28 Jul 1979
Charan Singh 28 Jul 1979 to 14 Jan 1980
Indira Gandhi 14 Jan 1980 to 31 Oct 1984
Rajiv Gandhi 31 Oct 1984 to 02 Dec 1989
Vishwanath Pratap Singh 02 Dec 1989 to 10 Nov 1990
Chandra Shekhar 10 Nov 1990 to 21 Jun 1991
P. V. Narasimha Rao 21 Jun 1991 to 16 May 1996
Atal Bihari Vajpayee 16 May 1996 to 01 Jun 1996
H. D. Deve Gowda 01 Jun 1996 to 21 Apr 1997
Atal Bihari Vajpayee 19 Mar 1998 to 22 May 2004
Dr. Manmohan Singh 22 May 2004 to 26 May 2014
Narendra Damodar das Modi 26 May 2014 to Incumbent

Prime Minister of India Important Facts

Some facts about the prime minister of India are given below.

  • Nehru served as India’s first Prime Minister and played a significant role in the country’s independence movement.
  • Indira Gandhi became the first female Prime Minister of India.
  • Charan Singh, a peasant leader, was elected as Prime Minister from a rural constituency and advocated for pro-poor policies.
  • Morarji Desai became the first non-Congress Prime Minister of India and implemented notable economic reforms.
  • Rajiv Gandhi, at the age of 40, became the youngest Prime Minister of India and was assassinated by a Sri Lankan suicide bomber in 1989.
  • Indira Gandhi faced the most no-confidence votes against her, totaling 15 during her tenure.

First Prime Minister of India, Find the List of All PM_3.1

Now keep yourself updated with Latest Defence Jobs and Defence News 24×7 Download ADDA247 App Now! CLICK HERE


Who is the Current Prime Minister of India?

Narendra Damodardas Modi is the Prime Minister of India.

Who is the youngest Prime Minister of India?

Rajiv Gandhi, was the youngest Prime Minister of India

Which Article is related to the Prime Minister of India?

According to  article 74 ,There shall be a Council of Ministers with the Prime Minister at the head to aid and advise the president who shall, in the exercise of his functions, act in accordance with such advice

What is the shortest tenure of Prime Minister in India?

Atal Bihari Vajpayee's 13 day tenure is the shortest till now.

Who was the first woman prime minister of India?

Indira Gandhi was the first woman Prime Minister of India.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *