Home   »   List of UK Prime Ministers Since...

List of UK Prime Ministers Since 1945

UK Prime Ministers

Current PM of United Kingdom Alexander Boris de Pfeffel Johnson has resigned in the month of July 2022 after a series of scandals which led to a large number of ministerial resignations and on September 5, 2022, UK will choose the next successor for the post of PM.

The office of prime minister was established in Britain in the 18th century, when King George I stopped attending meetings of his ministers and it was left to powerful minsters to act as government chief executive and considering that authoritative post, Sir Robert Walpole is considered as the first prime minister of Britain.

List of UK Prime Ministers Since 1945_40.1

The Prime Minister is the leader of Her Majesty’s Government and He is the one who is majorly responsible for all the policy and decisions taken by the government.

Other than this, he has other duties too like –

  • monitoring the operation of the Civil Service and other government agencies
  • selecting the members of the government
  • is the head of government in the House of Commons

Since he is also the Minister of the Union, so he also ensures the functioning of the government on behalf of the entire United Kingdom: England, Northern Ireland, Scotland, and Wales. The official residence of the Prime Minister of Britain is 10 Downing Street, London.

In this article we will go through the tenures of Prime Minister of United Kingdom from 1945 in a form of table. Check this out –

List of UK Prime Ministers

Name of Prime Ministers Serving Duration
Winston Churchill 10th May 1940- 26th July 1945
Clement Attlee 26th July 1945- 26th October 1951
Sir Winston Churchill 26th October 1951- 5th April 1955
Sir Anthony Eden 6th April 1955- 9th January 1957
Harold Macmillan 10th January 1957- 18th October 1963
Sir Alec Douglas-Home 19 October 1963- 16 October 1964
Harold Wilson 16 October 1964- 19 June 1970
Edward Heath 19 June 1970 – 4 March 1974
Harold Wilson 4 March 1974- 5 April 1976
James Callaghan 5 April 1976- 4 May 1979
Margaret Thatcher 4 May 1979- 28 November 1990
John Major 28 November 1990- 2 May 1997
Tony Blair 2 May 1997- 27 June 2007
Gordon Brown 27 June 2007 – 11 May 2010
David Cameron 11 May 2010- 13 July 2016
Theresa May 13 July 2016- 24 July 2019
Boris Johnson 24 July 2019- till date

List of UK Prime Ministers Since 1945_50.1

Prime Minister of UK: FAQs

Q1. Who was the PM of UK in 1945?
Ans. Winston Churchill was the PM of UK in 1945.

Q2. Who is the Indian-origin candidate contesting for the seat of PM in United Kingdom?
Ans. Former chancellor Rishi Sunak.

Q3. Who was the longest serving prime minister of UK?
Ans. Sir Robert Walpole, served for 20 years and 315 days from 3 April 1721 until 11 February 1742 as the Prime Minister of UK.

Thank You, Your details have been submitted we will get back to you.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.