Home   »   Uttarakhand Gaurav Samman 2022, Check Complete...   »   Uttarakhand Gaurav Samman 2022, Check Complete...

Uttarakhand Gaurav Samman 2022, Check Complete List

Uttarakhand Gaurav Samman

The Uttarakhand Gaurav Samman is one of the two highest civilian awards of the State of Uttarakhand, along with the Uttarakhand Ratna. It is awarded to a person for their extraordinary contribution in any field of human endeavour.

Uttarakhand government has chosen National Security Advisor (NSA) Ajit Doval and late Chief of Defence Staff (CDS) General Bipin Rawat among five distinguished people for the “Uttarakhand Gaurav Samman” for the year 2022.

The award was introduced in 2021 by the Uttarakhand Government led by CM Pushkar Singh Dhami, as one of the two highest state-level civilian awards. Another one is Uttarakhand Ratna. People are awarded for their extraordinary contribution to any field of human endeavour.

Uttarakhand Gaurav Samman 2022, Check Complete List_30.1

Uttarakhand Gaurav Samman 2022

Chief Minister Pushkar Singh Dhami congratulated all the recipients of the award for their achievements. The CM also added, “On behalf of all the people of the state, I express my gratitude towards these great sons of ‘Devbhoomi’, who hoisted the Uttarakhand’s fame flag all over the world through their inspirational works in various spheres of social life.”

The awardees were felicitated with the Uttarakhand Gaurav Samman on 9 November 2022. Apart from Ajit Doval, former Chief of Defence Staff Gen Bipin Rawat, writer Prasoon Joshi, the late poet and author Girish Chandra Tiwari and late journalist Viren Dangwal were awarded posthumously with the award, reported PTI.

The Uttarakhand government awards people with Uttarakhand Gaurav Samman every year to mark their achievements in their respective fields.

Know about Awardees

  • Prasoon Joshi is the chairman of the Central Board of Film Certification. He is popular for writing in movies like Fanna, Bhag Milkha Bhag, Rang De Basanti, Tare Zameen Par, Black, Delhi-6, etc. He has also written for several nationwide campaigns like Dettol Swach Abhiyan, Tata Jagriti Anthem, Poshan Anthem, etc. He has worked as a playwright, songwriter, dialogue writer, etc.
  • NSA Ajit Doval is a retired civil servant from the IPS cadre. He is the fifth NSA of India in 2014. He has a history of handling the security issues of India at the top level. He served as the Director of the Intelligence Bureau from 2004–05. Before that, he spent a decade as the head of IB’s operation wing.
  • Late Viren Dangwal was an established poet and a journalist who will be awarded the award posthumously. Late Girish Chandra Tiwari wrote several Hindi poems, which are applauded by litterateurs.

It should be noted here that Former CDS, General Bipin Rawat, his wife, and 12 more people died in a fatal air crash that took place in December.


Uttarakhand Gaurav Samman 2022, Check Complete List_40.1



When was Uttarakhand Gaurav Samman introduced?

The Uttarakhand Ratna award was instituted by the Chief Minister of Uttarakhand Pushkar Singh Dhami in 2021, on the occasion of the 21st anniversary of Uttarakhand State Foundation Day which falls on 9 November each year.[

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *