Home   »   Static GK   »   FIFA World Cup Winners List

FIFA World Cup Winners List From 1930 to 2022 ( Argentina Wins)

FIFA World Cup Winners List

The FIFA World Cup, which is also the most celebrated World Cup globally, is an international association football competition contested by the senior men’s national teams of the members of the Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA) which is the sport’s global governing body. Since it was integrated in 1930, it has been awarded every four except in 1942 and 1946 when it was cancelled due to Second World War.

The last champion of the FIFA Trophy is Argentina, as it won its third title at the 2022 tournament in Qatar.

Teams go through the qualification phase during the preceding three years and after that, a list is prepared for the qualified teams which make it to the tournament phase. In that list, there is a total of 32 teams competing for the title at venues within the host nation(s) over about a month. host nation(s) automatically qualify.

Football World Cup Winners List

Till 2018, 21 final tournaments have been conducted and a total of 79 national teams have competed in FIFA World Cup. The trophy has been won by eight national teams. Brazil has made history many times by winning the title five times and by becoming the only team to have played in every tournament. The other World Cup winners are Germany and Italy, with four titles each; Argentina with three titles, France, and inaugural winner Uruguay, with two titles each; and England and Spain, with one title each.

FIFA World Cup Winners List From 1930 to 2022 (Argentina Wins)_40.1

Now the world has witnessed the 2022 Qatar World Cup. This time Argentina won the title since 1986. Argentina won the FIFA World Cup in the year 1978 after defeating Netherlands and 1986 after defeating Germany. This is also important from the exam point of view as it can be asked in the general awareness section so students must be aware of all the important detail related to FIFA 2022. In this article, we are proving you FIFA World CUP Winners List you can check below in the table –

FIFA World Cup Winners List From 1930 to 2022

Year Host Nations Winner Countries Runner Up Countries
1930 Uruguay Uruguay Argentina
1934 Italy Italy Czechoslovakia
1938 France Italy Hungary
1950 Brazil Uruguay Brazil
1954 Switzerland West Germany Hungary
1958 Sweden Brazil Sweden
1962 Chile Brazil Czechoslovakia
1966 England England West Germany
1970 Mexico Brazil Italy
1974 West Germany West Germany Netherlands
1978 Argentina Argentina Netherlands
1982 Spain Italy West Germany
1986 Mexico Argentina West Germany
1990 Italy West Germany Argentina
1994 USA Brazil Italy
1998 France France Brazil
2002 South Korea/Japan Brazil Germany
2006 Germany Italy France
2010 South Africa Spain Netherlands
2014 Brazil Germany Argentina
2018 Russia France Croatia
2022 Qatar Argentina France

FIFA World Cup Winners List From 1930 to 2022 (Argentina Wins)_50.1

Also Check:

FAQs Related to FIFA World Cup Winners List

Q1. Who was the winner of the FIFA World Cup 2018?
Ans. France won its second FIFA World Cup title at the 2018 tournament in Russia.

Q2. Who was the first country to win the FIFA World Cup title?
Ans. Uruguay won the title in 1930.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *