Home   »   Static GK PDF   »   Border Gavaskar Trophy History and Winners

Border Gavaskar Trophy, History and Winners List

Border Gavaskar Trophy

India will start their tour of Australia 2024-25 with the first Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy at Perth Stadium on 22nd November 2024. It’s the first time they will start their tour in Perth. The second Test will be at Adelaide Oval from 6-10 December, and it will be a Day-Night match. The third Test will be at the Gabba in Brisbane, starting on 14 December. The Boxing Day Test will be at the MCG in Melbourne, followed by the New Year’s Test at the SCG in Sydney. There’s a gap between the first and second Tests because the BCCI wants to play a practice match with the pink ball before the Adelaide Test. India’s last pink ball Test in Adelaide saw them getting bowled out for their all-time low score of 36 in the second innings.

The series of Test cricket games between India and Australia since 1996 is known as the Border-Gavaskar Trophy. It is one of the world’s most anticipated Test cricket series, and it is typically played every other year. In honour of both men’s contributions to the game and the cultures of cricket in their respective countries, the series was given their names.

Border Gavaskar Trophy History

The Indian cricket team faced Australia in 50 Test matches between 1947 and 1996. And then the fabled competition was renamed the Border-Gavaskar Trophy in 1996 to celebrate the record-breaking achievements of cricket legends Sunil Gavaskar of India and former Australia captain Allan Border. BGT is an unofficial acronym created by fans for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy, which is named in honour of two renowned cricketers, Allan Border and Sunil Gavaskar.

In 1996–1997, the First Border-Gavaskar trophy match was played between the two nations. In that series, one Test was played in Delhi under Sachin Tendulkar. Since then, 15 Test series—at home and abroad—have been played between the two teams. India won two away series and won eight times. While Australia only won one away series in 2004 they still managed to win 6.

Also Read – Ranji Trophy Winners and Runners Up List 2023.

Border Gavaskar Trophy Winners List

A total of 16 Border-Gavaskar Trophies have been played so far, and the Indian team has conquered the Australians quite a lot of times. Out of 16, 10 series have been won by India, 5 have been won by Australia and one series has ended in a draw. The last three series have been won by the Indian team only.

Assam Rifles Recruitment 2022, Apply for 1380 Vacancies_50.1

The first BGT was played in 1996 when Australia visited India, and India won the series. Australia visited India in 2004 where they won the series, and it was the only time they were successful in winning a series in India. Both sides have dominated in their home backyard only, but the Indian team has defeated Australia in away conditions for the last two consecutive series.

S No. Series Season Winner Margin
1 Australia in India 1996/97 India 1-0 (1)
2 Australia in India 1997/98 India 2-1 (3)
3 India in Australia 1999/00 Australia 3-0 (3)
4 Australia in India 2000/01 India 2-1 (3)
5 India in Australia 2003/04 drawn 1-1 (4)
6 Australia in India 2004/05 Australia 2-1 (4)
7 India in Australia 2007/08 Australia 2-1 (4)
8 Australia in India 2008/09 India 2-0 (4)
9 Australia in India 2010/11 India 2-0 (2)
10 India in Australia 2011/12 Australia 4-0 (4)
11 Australia in India 2012/13 India 4-0 (4)
12 India in Australia 2014/15 Australia 2-0 (4)
13 Australia in India 2016/17 India 2-1 (4)
14 India in Australia 2018/19 India 2-1 (4)
15 India in Australia 2020/21 India 2-1 (4)
16 Australia in India 2022/23 India 2-1 (4)

Border Gavaskar Trophy, History and Winners List_4.1


What is Border Gavaskar Trophy?

The Border–Gavaskar Trophy is a Test cricket series played between India and Australia. It is played via the International Cricket Council's future tours.

How many times India have won Border-Gavaskar Trophy?

Since the start of the Border-Gavaskar series in 1996, India has won 24 of the 56 matches played between the two sides

What is the reason behin Border-Gavaskar Trophy name?

The series is named after distinguished former captains, Australia's Allan Border and India's Sunil Gavaskar.

When was BGT (Border-Gavaskar Trophy) first played?

The first edition of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy was played during 1996–97


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *