Home   »   Static GK PDF   »   Ranji Trophy Winners List

Ranji Trophy Winners and Runners Up List 2023, Complete

Ranji Trophy Winners and Runners-Up List 2023

Ranji Trophy Winners List: The Ranji Trophy is an annual first-class premier cricket championship played in India between different teams representing regional and different state cricket associations. The Ranji Trophy founded by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), was named after one of India’s first test cricketers, Ranjitsinhji, who played for England and Sussex.

Assam Rifles Recruitment 2022, Apply for 1380 Vacancies_50.1

He was the ruler of the Indian princely state of Nawanagar and a fine batsman who played 15 Tests for England between 1896 and 1902. The series was first announced in 1934, and the initial fixtures took place in 1934-35. The competition currently consists of 38 teams, with all 28 states in India and 4 of the 8 union territories having at least one representation.

One of the characteristics of the series is that apart from regional cricket boards of various states, government teams also take part in the tournament, like the Railways team, and several other teams associated with government enterprises.

Ranji Trophy 2023

The Ranji Trophy has got extreme recognition over the years, and now it is almost as much popular as any other international match in India. Also with time, the Ranji Trophy has become a breeding ground for some of the best Indian cricketers, who later got selected into the Indian national team on the basis of their spectacular performance in the Ranji Trophy matches.

Ranji Trophy 2023: Ranji Trophy 2022-23 began on 13th December 2022 and will continue till 20th February 2023. In Ranji Trophy 2022-23, a total of 135 matches will be played and a total of 32 teams are participating that have been split into 4 groups. As soon as the final results are out, you will be updated on our site. Stay tuned to know.

Also read – Most mysterious story of the Indian Army

Ranji Trophy Winners List (From1934-35 to Till Now)

Check this list to know all the winners from the year when the competition started till date. Historically, Mumbai has dominated the Ranji Trophy, winning the competition a record 41 times. Go through the whole list to know more about the winners –

Season Winners Runners-up
2021-22 Madhya Pradesh Mumbai
2020-21 was not organised due to Covid
2019-20 Bengal Saurashtra
2018–19 Vidarbha Saurashtra
2017–18 Vidarbha Delhi
2016–17 Gujarat Mumbai
2015–16 Mumbai Saurashtra
2014–15 Karnataka Tamil Nadu
2013–14 Karnataka Maharashtra
2012–13 Mumbai Saurashtra
2011–12 Rajasthan Tamil Nadu
2010–11 Rajasthan Baroda
2009–10 Mumbai Karnataka
2008–09 Mumbai Uttar Pradesh
2007–08 Delhi Uttar Pradesh
2006–07 Mumbai Bengal
2005–06 Uttar Pradesh Bengal
2004–05 Railways Punjab
2003–04 Mumbai Tamil Nadu
2002–03 Mumbai Tamil Nadu
2001–02 Railways Baroda
2000–01 Baroda Railways
1999–00 Mumbai Hyderabad
1998–99 Karnataka Madhya Pradesh
1997–98 Karnataka Uttar Pradesh
1996–97 Mumbai Delhi
1995–96 Karnataka Tamil Nadu
1994–95 Bombay Punjab
1993–94 Bombay Bengal
1992–93 Punjab Maharashtra
1991–92 Delhi Tamil Nadu
1990–91 Haryana Bombay
1989–90 Bengal Delhi
1988–89 Delhi Bengal
1987–88 Tamil Nadu Railways
1986–87 Hyderabad Delhi
1985–86 Delhi Haryana
1984–85 Bombay Delhi
1983–84 Bombay Delhi
1982–83 Karnataka Bombay
1981–82 Delhi Karnataka
1980–81 Bombay Delhi
1979–80 Delhi Bombay
1978–79 Delhi Karnataka
1977–78 Karnataka Uttar Pradesh
1976–77 Bombay Delhi
1975–76 Bombay Bihar
1974–75 Bombay Karnataka
1973–74 Karnataka Rajasthan
1972–73 Bombay Tamil Nadu
1971–72 Bombay Bengal
1970–71 Bombay Maharashtra
1969–70 Bombay Rajasthan
1968–69 Bombay Bengal
1967–68 Bombay Madras
1966–67 Bombay Rajasthan
1965–66 Bombay Rajasthan
1964–65 Bombay Hyderabad
1963–64 Bombay Rajasthan
1962–63 Bombay Rajasthan
1961–62 Bombay Rajasthan
1960–61 Bombay Rajasthan
1959–60 Bombay Mysore
1958–59 Bombay Bengal
1957–58 Baroda Services
1956–57 Bombay Services
1955–56 Bombay Bengal
1954–55 Madras Holkar
1953–54 Bombay Holkar
1952–53 Holkar Bengal
1951–52 Bombay Holkar
1950–51 Holkar Gujarat
1949–50 Baroda Holkar
1948–49 Bombay Baroda
1947–48 Holkar Bombay
1946–47 Baroda Holkar
1945–46 Holkar Baroda
1944–45 Bombay Holkar
1943–44 Western India Bengal
1942–43 Baroda Hyderabad
1941–42 Bombay Mysore
1940–41 Maharashtra Madras
1939–40 Maharashtra United Provinces
1938–39 Bengal Southern Punjab
1937–38 Hyderabad Nawanagar
1936–37 Nawanagar Bengal
1935–36 Bombay Madras
1934–35 Bombay Northern India



Who founded The Ranji Trophy ?

The Ranji Trophy founded by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), was named after one of India’s first test cricketers, Ranjitsinhji, who played for England and Sussex.

Which team is the winner of the Ranji Trophy 2021-22 season?

Madhya Pradesh is the winner of the Ranji Trophy 2021-22 season

Which team has won the Ranji Trophy most times?

Mumbai has won the competition a record 41 times. After Mumbai, Karnataka have won the most Ranji Trophies (8) followed by Delhi (7) and Baroda (5).

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *