SSC CGL Syllabus 2021: Check Detailed Syllabus For Tier 1, 2, 3 & 4

SSC CGL Syllabus 2021: SSC CGL Syllabus 2021 is discussed here. Check all in and out of the SSC CGL Syllabus 2021 as released by the commission. SSC CGL syllabus can help candidates in making a strategy for exam preparation in a systematic manner. Candidates can go through this article to know all the important points regarding SSC CGL Syllabus 2021.

Check SSC CGL 2021 Notification

SSC CGL Syllabus 2021

Staff Selection Commission (SSC) conducts SSC CGL 2021 Combined Graduate Level (CGL) Examination in four Tiers namely Tier 1, Tier 2, Tier 3, and Tier 4. While SSC CGL Tier 1 and Tier 2 are conducted in Online Mode on the other hand Tier 3 is conducted in Pen and Paper mode and Tier 4 is Computer Skill Test. Candidates can go through this article for all information about the SSC CGL Syllabus 2021. Candidates must look into the changes made by SSC in the Syllabus and prepare accordingly for SSC CGL 2021. This article also explains each tier of SSC CGL.

Let us go through a brief of SSC CGL Exam Pattern 2021: Tiers of Exam

SSC CGL 2021 Comprises four Tiers. SSC CGL 2021 Exam Pattern is explained below:

Tier Type of Examination Mode of examination
Tier 1 Objective Multiple Choice CBT (Online)
Tier 2 Objective Multiple Choice CBT (Online)
Tier 3 Descriptive Paper in Hindi/ English Pen and Paper Mode
Tier 4 Computer Proficiency Test/ Skill Test Wherever Applicable


SSC CGL Syllabus 2021 For Tier 1

SSC CGL Tier 1 comprises 100 questions in total with maximum marks of 200. SSC CGL Tier 1 is of 60 minutes. SSC CGL Tier I is divided into four sections with 25 questions each and maximum marks of 50.
The sections asked in SSC CGL Tier I Exam are:

  • General Knowledge
  • Quantitative Aptitude
  • General Reasoning
  • English Comprehension

The Topic-wise Syllabus of Tier 1 is given in Table below:

General Intelligence and Reasoning General Awareness Quantitative Aptitude English Comprehension
Classification Static General Knowledge Simplification Reading Comprehension
Analogy Science Interest Cloze Test
Coding-Decoding Current Affairs Averages Spellings
Paper Folding Method Sports Percentage Phrases and Idioms
Matrix Books and Authors Ratio and Proportion One word Substitution
Word Formation Important Schemes Problem on Ages Sentence Correction
Venn Diagram Portfolios Speed, Distance, and Time Error Spotting
Direction and Distance People in the News Number System Fill in the Blanks
Blood Relations History Mensuration Active/Passive
Series Geography Data Interpretation Narrations
Verbal reasoning Economic Time and Work
Non-Verbal Reasoning Awards and Honors Algebra
Economic Trigonometry

Download the SSC CGL Capsule for General Awareness & Science for Beginner’s

SSC CGL Syllabus 2021 For Tier 2

SSC CGL Tier 2 exam will be conducted online comprising of four exams with about 100 or 200 (English) questions in each section and with maximum marks of 200. Candidates have to complete each Exam in 2 hours.
The sections asked in SSC CGL Tier 2 Exam are:

  • Quantitative Ability.
  • Statistics.
  • General Studies (Finance & Economics).
  • English Language & Comprehension.

The Topic-wise SSC CGL Syllabus of Tier 2 is given in the table below:

Quantitative Aptitude English Language Statistics General Awareness
Simplification Reading Comprehension Collection and Representation of Data Finance and Accounting
Interest Spelling Measure of Dispersion Fundamental Principles
Averages Fill in the Blanks A measure of Central Tendency Financial Accounting
Percentage Phrases and Idioms Moments, Skewness and Kurtosis Basic Concepts of Accounting
Ratio and Proportion One Word Substitution Correlation and Regression Self-Balancing Ledger
Speed, Distance, and Time Sentence Correction Random Variables Error Spotting and Correction
Number System Error Spotting Random Variables
Mensuration Cloze Test Sampling Theory Economics and Governance
Data Interpretation Para Jumbles Analysis and Variance Comptroller and Auditor General of India
Time and Work Synonyms-Antonyms Time Series Analysis Finance Commission
Algebra Active-Passive Voice Index Number Theory of Demand and Supply
Data Sufficiency

Download the SSC CGL Capsule for General Awareness & Science for Beginner’s

SSC CGL Syllabus 2021 For Tier 3

SSC has decided to conduct a Descriptive Paper instead of an Interview in SSC CGL for all the candidates who qualify SSC CGL Tier 2 Examination. SSC CGL Tier 3 Descriptive Paper (Pen and Paper Mode) is introduced to test the writing skills of the candidates. The exam is conducted in offline mode (Pen and Paper Mode). The paper is in English/ Hindi language and will constitute 100 marks. Candidates have to complete the entire paper in 60 minutes.

Subject Marks Time

Descriptive Paper in English/Hindi (Writing of Essay,

Precis, Letter, Application, etc.)

100 marks 1 hour or 60 minutes
(80 minutes for
PWD category)

Note:- Candidates have to score 33 marks (33 percent) to qualify for the Descriptive Paper.

SSC CGL Syllabus 2021 For Tier 4

SSC CGL Tier 4 Exam is a Computer Skill Test. SSC CGL Tier 4 is conducted in two steps:

  1. Skill Test in Data Entry (DEST) Test and
  2. Computer Proficiency Test (CPT) Test.

DEST: Candidates are required to type 2000 words in 15 minutes on a computer in English. This test is conducted to check a candidate’s typing skills. Candidates are given an article in English which they have to type on Computer. For the post of Tax Assistant (Central Excise and Income Tax), DEST Exam through the SSC CGL 2021 exam is conducted to check the typing speed of the candidate.
CPT: This test is conducted to check a candidate’s proficiency in Word Processing, Spreadsheets and Generation of Slides are the three areas that are tested by the SSC for the post of CSS, MEA, Inspector (Central Excise), Inspector (Preventive Officer), Inspector (Examiner).
Note:- SSC CGL Tier 4 is qualifying in nature, no marks will be rewarded in SSC CGL Tier 4.
Candidates have to score well in all the Tiers i.e., Tier 1, Tier 2, and Tier 3, and also qualify in Tier 4 of SSC CGL to get the desired post and location.

SSC CGL Syllabus 2021: FAQ’s

Q 1. How many tiers are there for SSC CGL Exam 2021?
Ans. There are four tiers in SSC CGL Exam 2021.

Q 2. Do all candidates have to appear for all the tiers of the SSC CGL Exam?
Ans. No. Paper-I, II, and III are compulsory for all posts. Paper-IV will be for only those candidates, for the posts of Assistant Audit Officer/ Assistant Accounts Officer.

Q 3. What topics or subjects are asked in SSC CGL Exam?
Ans. Questions from Reasoning Ability, Verbal Ability, Quantitative Aptitude, and General Awareness are asked in SSC CGL Exam.

Q 4. Is there negative marking in SSC CGL Exam?
Ans. Yes. There is a negative marking of 0.50 in Paper I and 0.25 in Paper II of SSC CGL.

Q 5. What is the SSC CGL Syllabus for Tier 3?
Ans. Paper 3 of SSC CGL will be pen and paper mode descriptive in nature. The candidates will have to write essays, précis, applications, letters. Tier III evaluates the candidates’ language proficiency, grammar knowledge, vocabulary usage, and writing skills in English/Hindi.

Q 6. What is the qualifying marks for SSC CGL Paper III?
Ans. Candidates have to score 33 marks (33 percent) to qualify for the Descriptive paper.

Download Upcoming Government Exam Calendar 2021


Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.

Thank You, Your details have been submitted we will get back to you.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Forgot Password?

Sign Up
Forgot Password
Enter the email address associated with your account, and we'll email you an OTP to verify it's you.

Reset Password
Please enter the OTP sent to