Home   »   Static GK PDF   »   Vijay Hazare Trophy Winner List

Vijay Hazare Trophy Winner List, Complete List

Vijay Hazare Trophy Winner List

In the 2021 season, Himachal Pradesh emerged as the freshest addition to the list of Vijay Hazare Trophy champions by overcoming Uttar Pradesh. The Vijay Hazare Trophy, a part of India’s domestic cricket framework, pays tribute to the renowned Indian test cricketer Vijay Hazare. It stands as a significant one-day cricket tournament within the Indian cricket scene.

Vijay Hazare Trophy

Referred to as the Ranji One-Day Trophy, this competition takes place among the squads engaged in the Ranji Trophy. At present, the tournament accommodates a collective of 38 teams, and among them, Tamil Nadu has stood out as the most accomplished contender, securing victory in the championship on five occasions, which notably includes the inaugural competition.

This annual event comprises a participation roster of 38 teams and follows a structure involving round-robin matches and subsequent playoffs.

Assam Rifles Recruitment 2022, Apply for 1380 Vacancies_50.1

The Vijay Hazare Trophy has gone through multiple changes to its fixture formats. Until the 2014-15 season, the 28 participating teams used to be divided into five zones – North, South, East, West and Central. The knockout stage of the tournament then followed the group or the zonal stage.

The current format, however, divides the 38 teams into five Elite Groups having six teams each and one Plate Group having the remaining eight teams. A round-robin fixture is conducted within these groups wherein the table toppers of the five elite groups secure their spots in the quarterfinals and the second-positioned teams in the five elite groups and the topper of the plate group contest for the remaining three spots in the preliminary quarterfinals. A knockout stage from here on determines the winner of the championship.

Himachal Pradesh is the newest state to enter the List of Winners of the Vijay Hazare Trophy. let us look at the journey of winners of the Vijay Hazare Trophy in all those past years –

Vijay Hazare Trophy Winners List Complete

Season  Winner State  Runner-Up State 
2002-03 Tamil Nadu Punjab
2003-04 Mumbai Bengal
2004-05 Tamil Nadu & Uttar Pradesh NA
2005-06 Railways Uttar Pradesh
2006-07 Mumbai Rajasthan
2007-08 Saurashtra Bengal
2008-09 Tamil Nadu Bengal
2009-10 Tamil Nadu Bengal
2010-11 Jharkhand Gujarat
2011-12 Bengal Mumbai
2012-13 Delhi Assam
2013-14 Karnataka Railways
2014-15 Karnataka Punjab
2015-16 Gujarat Delhi
2016-17 Tamil Nadu Bengal
2017-18 Karnataka Saurashtra
2018-19 Mumbai Delhi
2019-20 Karnataka Tamil Nadu
2020-21 Mumbai Uttar Pradesh
2021-22 Himachal Pradesh Tamil Nadu

Interesting Facts About Vijay Hazare Trophy

  • Tamil Nadu has won the trophy 5 times which is the most by any team and is followed by Karnataka and Mumbai
  • Karnataka and Tamil Nadu are the only two teams in the history of the tournament to win the trophy for two consecutive years.
  • The 2004-05 season of the cup saw two winners in the form of Tamil Nadu and Uttar Pradesh as the final between the two resulted in a tie.

Vjay BSF Constable Tradesman 2023


Q1. Who is the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022 winner?

Ans. Himachal Pradesh is the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022 winner.

Q2. Who won the Vijay Hazare Trophy most of the time?

Ans. Tamil Nadu won Vijay Hazare Trophy 5 times.

Q3. Who has the Most runs in the history of the Vijay Hazare Trophy?

Ans. Yashpal Singh made 3193 runs which is the highest by anyone in Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Q4. Who has the Most runs in a single season of the Vijay Hazare Trophy?

Ans. Prithvi Shaw scored 827 runs in the 2020-21 season which is the highest in a single season of the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *