Home   »   Under-19 Women’s World Cup Winners List...

Under-19 Women’s World Cup Winners List Till 2023

Under-19 Women’s World Cup Winners List Till 2023

ICC Under-19 Women’s Cricket World Cup: The ICC Under-19 Women’s Cricket World Cup is an international cricket tournament organised by the International Cricket Council (ICC) and contested by the national women’s under-19 teams. It has been started recently and the first tournament took place in January 2023 in South Africa, with matches being played in the T20 format.

Assam Rifles Recruitment 2022, Apply for 1380 Vacancies_50.1

2023 ICC Under-19 Women’s T20 World Cup

Dates 14 January – 29 January 2023
Host South Africa
Champions India (1st title)
Runners-up England
Participants 16


India’s quest for a maiden world title in women’s cricket finally came to an end defeating England by seven wickets in the final in Potchefstroom, South Africa. Chasing a total of 69 for victory, the Shafali Verma-led side took just three wickets for the loss of runs. India lost Verma (15) and Shweta Sehrawat (5) early, but Gongadi Trisha (24) and Soumya Tiwary (24 not out) steadied the innings and took 14 overs to win. Shafali hit a four off Hannah Baker and then hit Sophia Smale for a six.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) congratulates the India Women’s Under-19 team for their historic title triumph in the inaugural edition of the ICC Under-19 Women’s T20 World Cup in South Africa. The BCCI has announced a cash reward of INR 5 Crore for the victorious India U-19 team and members of the support staff.

Also read – List of Important Terminology in Sports.

After almost 18 years India first made it to the final of a World Cup through the 50-over event in 2005. This is the first ICC title won by an Indian women’s team. The senior side had previously lost in the finals of the 2005 and 2017 Women’s Cricket World Cups and also lost in the 2023 Women’s T20 World Cup match against Australia. Shafali and Richa Gosha were also the part of the team that fell at the MCG three years ago.

Check the table given below to know various related information about the Under 19 Women’s T20 World Cup –

Year Host(s) Final venue Final No. of teams
Winners Result Runners-up
2023 South Africa Senwes Park, Potchefstroom India
69/3 (14 overs)
India won by 7 wickets
68 (17.1 overs)
2025 Malaysia
To be confirmed 16
2027 Bangladesh
To be confirmed 16

Records in ICC U19 Women’s T20 World Cup

  • Most Runs: Shewat Sehrawat (IND) – 297 runs in 7 innings
  • Highest Score (in a match): Grace Scrivens (ENG) – 93 off 56 balls
  • Best Average: Shweta Sehrawat (IND) – 99
  • Best Strike Rate: Shafali Verma (IND) – 193.26
  • Most Fifties: Shweta Sehrawat (IND) & Grace Scrivens (ENG) – 3
  • Most Fours: Shweta Sehrawat (IND) – 50
  • Most Sixes: Shafali Verma (IND) – 7
  • Most Wickets: Maggie Clark (AUS) – 12
  • Best Bowling Average: Sianna Ginger (AUS) – 5.57
  • Best Bowling Figures: Ellie Anderson (ENG) – 5/12
  • Most 5-wickets haul: Ellie Anderson (ENG) & Ni Luh Dewi (ZIM) – 1



Which country has the maximum number of World Cup Title for Women?

Australia is the country with the maximum number of World Cup Title of Women's tournaments

When was ICC Women’s Under 19 World Cup 2023 final?

The ICC Women's U19 T20 World Cup final was held on January 29, 2023, in Potchefstroom, South Africa.

How many teams participated in ICC Women’s Under 19 World Cup 2023?

A total of 16 teams from all around the world participated in ICC Women's Under 19 World Cup 2023.

Which country has won ICC Women’s Under 19 World Cup 2023?


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *