Home   »   What is SEAL Team Six

What is SEAL Team Six- History and Training

What is SEAL Team Six- History and Training

The Naval Special Warfare Development Group (NSWDG), abbreviated as DEVGRU (“Development Group”) and commonly known as SEAL Team Six, is the United States Navy component of the Joint Special Operations Command (JSOC). The unit is often referred to within JSOC as Task Force Blue. DEVGRU is administratively supported by Naval Special Warfare Command and operationally commanded by JSOC.

SEAL Team Six – History

The origins of SEAL Team Six can be traced back to various previous U.S. Navy organizations that were established to serve during World War II. The first of these organizations were the amphibious scouts and raiders, formed in 1942. They were followed by naval combat demolition units and underwater demolition teams, whose members became commonly known as “frogmen.” Additionally, there were specialized units such as the operational swimmers of the Office of Strategic Services and special boat units. As the military recognized the value of smaller, highly skilled units employing tactical approaches, SEAL Teams 1 and 2 were established in 1962.

Following the unsuccessful U.S. military rescue attempt during the Iran hostage crisis in 1980, U.S. Navy Commander Richard Marcinko was assigned the task of establishing a new unit that would later become known as SEAL Team Six. The failed mission resulted in the loss of eight service members’ lives, the breakdown of diplomatic negotiations, and a significant blow to President Jimmy Carter’s administration. In response, Marcinko formed the new unit, purposely named SEAL Team Six (skipping SEAL Team 3 in the proper sequential order), with the intention of potentially deceiving the Soviet Union during the Cold War era. SEAL Team Six was specifically designed to be rapidly deployable for future hostage rescue operations and other critical situations where agile, specialized, and highly trained units were required.

Selection and Training of SEAL team six

The selection process for SEAL Team Six is known for its exceptional level of rigor. Candidates for the team are typically chosen from the ranks of the Navy SEALs, who are already recognized as an elite group. These potential operators must complete a highly demanding selection course referred to as Green Team. This intensive evaluation focuses on assessing their physical and mental capabilities, including endurance, resilience, problem-solving aptitude, and their ability to perform effectively in high-stress environments.

Upon successful completion of the selection process, candidates progress to the Operator Training Course (OTC), an intensive nine-month training program. During OTC, their skills are refined and enhanced in various crucial areas, including close-quarters combat, advanced marksmanship, explosive breaching, intelligence gathering, and other essential competencies. The objective of OTC is to push operators to their limits, enabling them to develop the necessary capabilities to tackle the intricate and ever-evolving challenges they will encounter in real-world operational scenarios.



What is the specialty of SEAL Team Six?

SEAL Team Six specializes in Maritime Counter Terrorism (MCT) e.g. hostage rescue and elimination of terrorists on ships, oil platforms etc.

How did the SEAL Team Six got its name?

Marcinko named the unit SEAL Team Six in order to confuse Soviet intelligence as to the number of actual SEAL teams in existence.

Who created SEAL Six Team?

SEAL Six Team was created by Richard “Dick” Marcinko.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *