Home   »   Static GK   »   Railways Ministers of India

List of Railways Ministers of India from 1947- 2022

Railways Ministers of India

Indian Railways (IR) was instituted on 6th May 1836. It is a government institute that functions under the Ministry of Railways which has the responsibility to operate the railway system of India. Indian Railways is one of the organisations to employ the largest number of personnel in the world.

Indian Railways manages the Fourth-largest railway network in the world by size, with a total route length of 126,511 km (78,610 mi) as of 31 December 2021. 45,881 km (28,509 mi) or 35% of all the broad-gauge routes are electrified with 25 kV 50 Hz AC electric traction as of 1 April 2021.

The Railway Minister holds cabinet rank and is responsible for Indian Railways. He is given the responsibility to present the Railway Budget in Parliament which is the Annual Financial Statement of Indian Railways. If the office of the Minister of Railways is vacant for any period of time, it automatically comes under the charge of the Prime Minister.

List of Railways Ministers of India from 1947- 2022_40.1

In the Central Government, The first Indian Minister of Railways was Asaf Ali.  He was on the post from  2 September 1946 to 14 August 1947. Even though India was still under British rule at the time, the position of railways minister had not been clearly defined.

Ashwini Vaishnav is current India’s minister of railways. The transportation minister’s yearly presentation of the railway budget has changed since 2017 when it was combined with the Union budget.

List of Railways Ministers of India from 1947- 2022

S. No Name From To Political Party
1 Ashwini Vaishnav 7-Jul-21 Incumbent Bharatiya Janata Party
2 Piyush Goyal 3-Sep-17 7-Jul-21 Bharatiya Janata Party
3 Suresh Prabhu 10-Nov-14 3-Sep-17 Bharatiya Janata Party
4 D. V. Sadananda Gowda 27-May-14 10-Nov-14 Bharatiya Janata Party
5 Mallikarjun Kharge 17-Jun-13 25-May-14 Indian National Congress
6 C. P. Joshi 11-May-13 16-Jun-13 Indian National Congress
7 Pawan Kumar Bansal 28-Oct-12 10-May-13 Indian National Congress
8 C. P. Joshi 22-Sep-12 28-Oct-12 Indian National Congress
9 Mukul Roy 20-Mar-12 21-Sep-12 Trinamool Congress
10 Dinesh Trivedi 12-Jul-11 14-Mar-12 Trinamool Congress
11 Mamata Banerjee 26-May-09 19-May-11 Trinamool Congress
12 Lalu Prasad Yadav 23-May-04 25-May-09 Rashtriya Janata Dal
13 Nitish Kumar 20-Mar-01 22-May-04 Janata Dal (United)
14 Mamata Banerjee 13-Oct-99 15-Mar-01 Trinamool Congress
15 Ram Naik 6-Aug-99 12-Oct-99 Bharatiya Janata Party
16 Nitish Kumar 19-Mar-98 5-Aug-99 Samata Party
17 Ram Vilas Paswan 1-Jun-96 19-Mar-98 Janata Dal
18 Jaffer Sharief 21-Jun-91 16-Oct-95 Indian National Congress
19 Janeshwar Mishra 21-Nov-90 21-Jun-91 Samajwadi Janata Party
20 George Fernandes 5-Dec-89 10-Nov-90 Janata Dal
21 Madhavrao Scindia 22-Oct-86 1-Dec-89 Indian National Congress
22 Mohsina Kidwai 24-Jun-86 21-Oct-86 Indian National Congress
23 Bansi Lal 31-Dec-84 4-Jun-86 Indian National Congress
24 A. B. A. Ghani Khan Choudhury 2-Sep-82 31-Dec-84 Indian National Congress
25 Prakash Chandra Sethi 15-Jan-82 2-Sep-82 Indian National Congress
26 Kedar Pandey 12-Nov-80 14-Jan-82 Indian National Congress
27 Kamalapati Tripathi 14-Jan-80 12-Nov-80 Indian National Congress
28 T. A. Pai 30-Jul-79 13-Jan-80 Janata Party (Secular)
29 Madhu Dandavate 26-Mar-77 28-Jul-79 Janata Party
30 Kamalapati Tripathi 11-Feb-75 23-Mar-77 Indian National Congress
31 Lalit Narayan Mishra 5-Feb-73 2-Jan-75 Indian National Congress
32 T. A. Pai 23-Jul-72 4-Feb-73 Indian National Congress
33 K. Hanumanthaiya 18-Mar-71 22-Jul-72 Indian National Congress
34 Gulzarilal Nanda 18-Feb-70 17-Mar-71 Indian National Congress
35 Panampilli Govinda Menon 4-Nov-69 18-Feb-70 Indian National Congress
36 Ram Subhag Singh 14-Feb-69 4-Nov-69 Indian National Congress
37 C. M. Poonacha 13-Mar-67 14-Feb-69 Indian National Congress
38 S. K. Patil 9-Jun-64 12-Mar-67 Indian National Congress
39 H. C. Dasappa 21-Sep-63 8-Jun-64 Indian National Congress
40 Swaran Singh 10-Apr-62 21-Sep-63 Indian National Congress
41 Jagjivan Ram 7-Dec-56 10-Apr-62 Indian National Congress
42 Lal Bahadur Shastri 13-May-52 7-Dec-56 Indian National Congress
43 N. Gopalaswami Ayyangar 22-Sep-48 13-May-52 Indian National Congress
44 John Mathai 15-Aug-47 22-Sep-48 Indian National Congress
45 Asaf Ali 2-Sep-46 14-Aug-47 Indian National Congress

List of Railways Ministers of India from 1947- 2022_50.1FAQs related to Railways Ministers of India:

Q1. Who is the incumbent Railways Minister of India?
Ans. Ashwini Vaishnav took the charge in July 2021.

Q2. Who was the first Railways Minister of India?
Ans. The first Indian Minister of Railways was Asaf Ali.

Q3. What is the total route length of Indian Railways?
Ans. The total route length of Indian Railways is 126,511 km.

Thank You, Your details have been submitted we will get back to you.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.