Home   »   List of Chief Minister Andhra Pradesh...

List of Chief Minister Andhra Pradesh From 1960 to 2022

Who is the Current Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh?

Static GK

Yeduguri Sandinti Jagan Mohan Reddy is the incumbent CM of Andhra Pradesh, who is also known as YS Jagan Reddy. He was born on 21 December 1972 in Jammalamadugu, which is a place in Kadapa district of Andhra Pradesh.

He is a famous Indian politician from Andhra Pradesh and right now he is the 17th and current chief minister of Andhra Pradesh since 2019.

As he was the son of  famous politician, YSR Reddy, who also happened to be the two-time chief minister of Andhra Pradesh from 2004 to 2009, so it was quite predictable that he would also be coming to politics and this is exactly what he chose for himself.  He is the founder and president of YSR Congress Party (YSRCP).

Initially, to begin with politics, He started campaigning from Kadapa district for the Indian National Congress in the 2004 Andhra Pradesh state elections. In general election of 2009, he was elected as a Member of Parliament from Kadapa constituency as a member of the Indian National Congress.

Turning point in his life was the sudden demise of his father, Rajasekhar Reddy. At that time He did a consoling tour for the people, which was known as Ōdārpu Yatra and mainly due to this he ended up forming YSR Congress Party in 2011. His party won many a times at both the state and national levels. His victory in 2019 Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly election set a record as he got total 151 seats out of 175 seats.

List of Chief Ministers of Andhra Pradesh

S. No Chief Minister From To Party Name
1 Y. S. Jaganmohan Reddy 30 May 2019 Present YSR Congress Party
2 N. Chandrababu Naidu 08 Jun 2014 29 May 2019 Telugu Desam Party
3 President’s rule 01 Mar 2014 08 Jun 2014 N/A
4 N. Kiran Kumar Reddy 25 Nov 2010 01 Mar 2014 Indian National Congress
5 K. Rosaiah 03 Sep 2009 24 Nov 2010 Indian National Congress
6 Y. S. Rajasekhara Reddy 14 May 2004 02 Sep 2009 Indian National Congress
7 N. Chandrababu Naidu 01 Sep 1995 14 May 2004 Telugu Desam Party
8 N. T. Rama Rao 12 Dec 1994 01 Sep 1995 Telugu Desam Party
9 Kotla Vijaya Bhaskara Reddy 09 Oct 1992 12 Dec 1994 Indian National Congress
10 N. Janardhana Reddy 17 Dec 1990 09 Oct 1992 Indian National Congress
11 Marri Chenna Reddy 03 Dec 1989 17 Dec 1990 Indian National Congress
12 N. T. Rama Rao 16 Sep 1984 02 Dec 1989 Telugu Desam Party
13 Nadendla Bhaskara Rao 16 Aug 1984 16 Sep 1984 Telugu Desam Party
14 N. T. Rama Rao 09 Jan 1983 16 Aug 1984 Telugu Desam Party
15 Kotla Vijaya Bhaskara Reddy 20 Sep 1982 09 Jan 1983 Indian National Congress
16 Bhavanam Venkatarami Reddy 24 Feb 1982 20 Sep 1982 Indian National Congress
17 Tanguturi Anjaiah 11 Oct 1980 24 Feb 1982 Indian National Congress
18 Marri Chenna Reddy 06 Mar 1978 11 Oct 1980 Indian National Congress
19 Jalagam Vengala Rao 10 Dec 1973 06 Mar 1978 Indian National Congress
20 President’s rule 11 Jan 1973 10 Dec 1973 N/A
21 P. V. Narasimha Rao 30 Sep 1971 10 Jan 1973 Indian National Congress
22 Kasu Brahmananda Reddy 21 Feb 1964 30 Sep 1971 Indian National Congress
23 Neelam Sanjiva Reddy 12 Mar 1962 20 Feb 1964 Indian National Congress
24 Damodaram Sanjivayya 11 Jan 1960 12 Mar 1962 Indian National Congress
25 Neelam Sanjiva Reddy 01 Nov 1956 11 Jan 1960 Indian National Congress

Interesting Facts Related to CM of Andhra Pradesh

  1. Till now, Andhra Pradesh has total of 17 chief ministers and most of them belong to the Indian National Congress party.
  2.  N. Chandrababu Naidu is the longest-serving chief minister of Andhra Pradesh as he was the CM for more than thirteen years in multiple tenure. He is from Telugu Desam Party.
  3. N. Bhaskara Rao was the CM of Andhra Pradesh for the shortest time, that is just for 31 days.
  4. Founder of Telugu Desam Party, N. T. Rama Rao, was the second actor to become the chief minister of a state in India
  5. Neelam Sanjeeva Reddy who was once the CM of Andhra Pradesh, later on, became the president of India. He was from Indian National Congress party.
  6. P. V. Narasimha Rao who was also once the CM of Andhra Pradesh, later, became the prime minister of India.
    Indian Army Southern Command Recruitment 2022, Notification Out for 65 Posts_40.1