Home   »   Nari Shakti Puraskar   »   Nari Shakti Puraskar

Nari Shakti Puraskar 2021

Nari Shakti Puraskar- Relevance for UPSC Exam

  • GS Paper 2: Governance, Administration and Challenges– Welfare schemes for vulnerable sections of the population by the Centre and States and the performance of these schemes.

Nari Shakti Puraskar 2021_3.1


Nari Shakti Puraskar- Context

  • Ministry of Women and Child Development informed that the nominations for the Nari Shakti Puraskar, 2021 is open.
    • Applications/nominations may be made on the online portal www.awards.gov.in.
    • The last date for nomination is 31st January, 2022.

Sahitya Akademy Awards 2021


Nari Shakti Puraskar- Key Points

  • Background: Nari Shakti Puraskar was initiated by the Ministry of Women and Child Development in 1999.
  • About: Nari Shakti Puraskar is awarded on International Women’s Day each year on 8th March by the President of India.
  • Ministry: Ministry of Women and Child Development is responsible for the complete process related to the Nari Shakti Puraskar.
  • Significance: Nari Shakti Puraskar is the Highest Civilian Honour for Women in India.
  • Award: The Nari Shakti Puraskar carries a cash award of Rs.2 Lakh and a certificate for individuals and institutions.
  • Eligibility: Ministry of Women and Child Development provides the following eligibility criteria for selecting Nari Shakti Puraskar-
    • Awardee: Nari Shakti Puraskar is open to individuals, groups and institutions for outstanding work towards the empowerment of women.
    • Age criteria: Individual applicants must be at least 25 years of age.
    • Experience: Institutions must have at least 5 years of relevant experience.

National Youth Festival 2022- PM to Inaugurate 25th National Youth Festival


Nari Shakti Puraskar– Institutional Categories

Nari Shakti Puraskar is provided under six institutional categories, each of them is named after the eminent women in Indian history.

  1. Devi Ahilya Bai Holkar Award: It is given to the best Private Sector organization/ Public sector undertaking in promoting the well-being and welfare of women.
    1. Ahilyabai Holkar was an 18th-century ruler of the Malwa kingdom.
  2. Kannagi Devi Award: It is given to the best State which has appreciably improved Child Sex Ratio (CSR).
    1. Kannagi was the central character of the Tamil epic Silapathikaram.
  3. Mata Jijabai Award for Best Urban Local body for providing services and facilities to women,
    1. Mata Jijabai (mother of Shivaji) founded the Maratha Empire in the 17th century.
  4. Rani Gaidinliu Zeliang Award for Best Civil Society organization (CSO) doing outstanding work for the welfare and well-being of women.
    1. Rani Gaidinliu was a 20th-century Naga spiritual and political leader
  5. Rani Lakshmi Bai Award for Best Institution for Research & Development in the field of women empowerment.
    1. Lakshmibai was one of the leading figures of the Indian Rebellion of 1857 and erstwhile queen of Jhansi.
  6. Rani Rudramma Devi Awards for two District Panchayats and two Gram Panchayats.
    1. Rudrama Devi was a 13th-century ruler of the Deccan Plateau.


Global Youth Development Index 2020

Global Youth Development Index 2020

Sharing is caring!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *