Home   »   Home Minister of India 2024

Home Minister Of India, Check Complete List 1947 to 2024

One of the most important positions in the Indian government is that of Home Minister. He works closely with the Prime Minister to oversee many internal matters of the country. The first home minister of the Independent India was Sardar Vallabhhai Patel. The Home Minister has significant power in the role giving them influence over numerous government departments and law enforcement organizations.

The Home Ministers and Prime Ministers’ relationship is essential to good governance. Check out the full information regarding the Home Minister in the article.

List of Home Ministers of India

The Ministry of Home Affairs of the Govt. of India is headed by the Home Minister. Two Ministers of State, Civil Servants, and some professional advisors assist him. The Home Minister is also heavily involved in national security issues such as intelligence cooperation border security and counter-terrorism initiatives. Check the table below to learn about all the Home Ministers to date.

S.No Name Tenure Political Party
1 Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel 2 September 1946 – 15 December 1950 Indian National Congress
2 C. Rajagopalachari 26 December 1950 – 25 October 1951 Indian National Congress
3 Kailash Nath Katju 1951 – 1955 Indian National Congress
4 G. B. Pant 1955 – 1961 Indian National Congress
5 Lal Bahadur Shastri 4 April 1961 – 29 August 1963 Indian National Congress
6 Gulzarilal Nanda 29 August 1963 – 14 November 1966 Indian National Congress
7 Yashwantrao Chavan 14 November 1966 – 27 June 1970 Indian National Congress
8 Indira Gandhi 27 June 1970 – 04 February 1973 Indian National Congress
9 Uma Shankar Dikshit 4 February 1973 – 1974 Indian National Congress
10 Kasu Brahmananda Reddy 1974 – 24 March 1977 Indian National Congress
11 Charan Singh 24 March 1977 – 01 July 1978 Janata Party
12 Morarji Desai 1 July 1978 – 28 July 1979 Janata Party
13 Yashwantrao Chavan 01 July 1978 – 28 July 1979 Janata Party (Secular)
14 Giani Zail Singh 14 January 1980 – 22 June 1982 Indian National Congress
15 Ramaswamy Venkataraman 22 June 1982 – 02 September 1982 Indian National Congress
16 Prakash Chandra Sethi 2 September 1982 – 19 July 1984 Indian National Congress
17 P. V. Narasimha Rao 19 July 1984 – 31 December 1984 Indian National Congress
18 Shankarrao Chavan 31 December 1984 – 12 March 1986 Indian National Congress
19 P. V. Narasimha Rao 12 March 1986 – 12 May 1986 Indian National Congress
20 Sardar Buta Singh 12 May 1986 – 02 December 1989 Indian National Congress
21 Mufti Mohammad Sayeed 1989 – 10 November 1990 Janata Dal
22 Chandra Shekhar 10 November 1990 – 21 June 1991 Samajwadi Janata Party
23 Shankarrao Chavan 21 June 1991 – 16 May 1996 Indian National Congress
24 Murli Manohar Joshi 16 May 1996 – 1 June 1996 Bharatiya Janata Party
25 Indrajit Gupta 29 June 1996 – 19 March 1998 Communist Party of India
26 Lal Krishna Advani 19 March 1998 – 22 May 2004 Bharatiya Janata Party
27 Shivraj Patil 22 May 2004 – 30 November 2008 Indian National Congress
28 P. Chidambaram 30 November 2008 – 31 July 2012 Indian National Congress
29 Sushilkumar Shinde 31 July 2012 – 26 May 2014 Indian National Congress
30 Rajnath Singh 27 May 2014 – 29 May 2019 Bharatiya Janata Party
31 Amit Shah 30 May 2019 – June 2024 Bharatiya Janata Party

First Home Minister of India

The chief responsibility of the Home Minister is to maintain India’s internal security and domestic policy. The First and longest-serving Home Minister was Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel (2 September 1946 – 15 December 1950) which is 4 years and 3 months, and the shortest-serving one was Murli Manohar Joshi (16 May 1996 – 1 June 1996) which is just 16 days.

Yashwantrao Chavan served for two non-consecutive terms, the first was 14 November 1966 – 27 June 1970 and the second was, 01 July 1978 – 28 July 1979.

Who will be the New Home Minister of India in 2024?

After the 18th Lok Sabha Elections, it is still unknown who will head the Ministry of Home Affairs. But due to past developments and reactions most likely Amit Shah will be reappointed as the Home Minister of India. Earlier he served from May 2019 till the elections of 2024.  In 2017, he was elected as a member of the Rajya Sabha from Gujarat and in 2019 to the Lok Sabha from the Gandhinagar constituency of his home state.

On taking oath as the Union Minister of Home, Amit Shah brought about revolutionary changes in the way of functioning of the ministry and ensured peace and stability in Jammu and Kashmir, Northeast and leftwing extremism affected areas – three of the long-disturbed regions in India.

When Prime Minister also act as the Home Minister?

The Prime Minister has alternately served as the Minister of Home Affairs on multiple occasions. After Vallabhbhai Patel died in 1950 Jawaharlal Nehru briefly held the position of home minister. In 1966 Indira Gandhi took over the role after Gulzarilal Nanda resigned. From 1978 to 1979 Morarji Desai served in that capacity. Chandra Shekhar held the position during his tenure as prime minister and H. In 1996 D. Deve Gowda took on a brief role as home minister.

P. Chidambaram who was the home minister from 2008 to 2012 holds the unique distinction of having the positions of minister of state and cabinet minister. From 1986 until 1989 he was the state minister.

Role of Home Minister of India

Mostly the Home Minister of India, who is in charge of national security, safety, and decision-making, including border security. The Indian Home Minister handles intelligence agencies, policies, and other security measures. Additionally, they coordinate closely with state governments to manage terrorism prevention, law enforcement, and peace.

Sharing is caring!


First Home Minister of India?

Ever since the time of independent India's first Home Minister, Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel, the office has been seen as second in seniority only to the Prime Minister in the union cabinet. Like Patel, several Home Ministers have since held the additional portfolio of Deputy Prime Minister.

First Muslim Home Minister of India?

Mufti Mohammad Sayeed was the first muslim home minister of India. He was an Indian politician who served twice as the Chief Minister of Jammu and Kashmir, during November 2002–November 2005 and March 2015–January 2016. He was also Minister of Tourism in Rajiv Gandhi's cabinet and Home Minister of India in V. P. Singh's cabinet.

First lady home minister of India?

Indira Gandhi was the first lady Home Minister who served from 27 June 1970 - 04 February 1973 from INC political party.

Who is the Home Minister of India?

The Minister of Home Affairs (the Home Minister) is the head of the Ministry of Home Affairs of the Government of India. One of the senior-most officers in the Union Cabinet, the chief responsibility of the home minister is the maintenance of the internal security of India; the country's large police force comes under its jurisdiction.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *