Home   »   Seasons of India

Seasons of India, Winter, Summer, Monsoon, and Autumn

Seasons of India: India is a vast and diverse land, that experiences a fascinating interplay of seasons. Depending on how you look at it, there are either four main seasons recognized by the India Meteorological Department (IMD) or six traditional seasons based on the ancient Hindu calendar. In this article, we’ll explore both perspectives!

Seasons of India

India experiences four distinct seasons: Summer, Monsoon, Autumn, and Winter, from March to June, is hot and dry, while the monsoon season, from June to September, brings heavy rainfall across the country. Autumn, in October and November, is marked by mild temperatures and clear skies, often accompanied by festivals. Winter, from December to February, varies from chilly in the north to pleasantly cool in the south, with celebrations like Diwali and Christmas adding to the festive atmosphere. Each season contributes to India’s cultural richness and diversity.

What are the Seasons of India

In India, we experience four primary seasons: summer, monsoon, autumn, and winter, each bringing its distinct weather patterns and cultural significance.

Summer (March to June)

Seasons of India, Winter, Summer, Monsoon, and Autumn_3.1

  • Summer in India is characterized by intense heat and dry weather, particularly in the northern and central regions.
  • Temperatures often soar above 40°C (104°F) in many parts of the country, prompting people to seek relief indoors or in cooler hill stations.
  • The season also marks the onset of vacations, with families planning trips to hill stations like Shimla, Manali, and Ooty to escape the heat.

Monsoon (June to September)

Seasons of India, Winter, Summer, Monsoon, and Autumn_4.1

  • The monsoon season brings relief from the scorching summer heat as torrential rains sweep across the country.
  • These rains are vital for agriculture, replenishing water reservoirs, and sustaining livelihoods.
  • While the monsoon season can lead to flooding and disruption, it is also a time of rejuvenation for the land and an integral part of India’s cultural fabric.

Autumn (October to November)

Seasons of India, Winter, Summer, Monsoon, and Autumn_5.1

  • Autumn in India signifies a transition period marked by mild temperatures and clear skies.
  • It is a time of harvest festivals and cultural celebrations, such as Navaratri and Diwali, which illuminate the country with vibrant colors and traditions.
  • The weather during autumn is generally pleasant, making it an ideal time for outdoor activities and sightseeing.

Winter (December to February)

Seasons of India, Winter, Summer, Monsoon, and Autumn_6.1

  • Winter varies across India, with the northern regions experiencing cold temperatures and even snowfall, while the southern parts remain relatively warm.
  • It is a season of festivities, with Christmas, New Year, and Lohri being celebrated with enthusiasm across the country.
  • Winter also offers opportunities for trekking, camping, and exploring the rich cultural heritage of India.
  • In essence, the seasons of India not only influence the weather but also shape the rhythm of life, agriculture, and cultural festivities throughout the year, making each season a unique and cherished aspect of Indian life.

Six Traditional Seasons of India

In traditional Indian culture, the division of the year into six seasons, known as “Ritus,” is based on the lunar calendar and reflects the changes in weather, flora, fauna, and human activities. Each season has its unique characteristics, cultural significance, and impact on agriculture and daily life:

  1. Vasanta (Spring) – February and March:
    Vasanta marks the onset of spring when nature begins to awaken from its winter slumber.
    The weather is pleasant, with mild temperatures and blooming flowers adorning the landscape.
    Festivals like Holi, celebrating the victory of good over evil and the arrival of spring, are celebrated with colours and enthusiasm.
  2. Grishma (Summer) – April and May:
    Grishma is the hot and dry summer season characterized by scorching temperatures and parched landscapes.
    It is a time when water bodies start to dry up, and people seek relief from the heat through cooling drinks and shade.
    Traditional practices like staying indoors during the hottest hours of the day are common during this season.
  3. Varsha (Monsoon) – June and July:
    Varsha heralds the arrival of the monsoon, bringing relief from the summer heat with its cooling rains.
    The landscape transforms into lush greenery, and rivers swell with rainwater, vital for agriculture and replenishing water sources.
    Monsoon festivals like Teej and Raksha Bandhan are celebrated with fervor, symbolizing the joy and abundance brought by the rains.
  4. Sharad (Autumn) – August and September:
    Sharad marks the transition from the monsoon to autumn, characterized by clear skies, pleasant temperatures, and a bountiful harvest.
    It is a time of celebration and thanksgiving, with festivals like Navaratri and Durga Puja honouring the goddess Durga and the victory of good over evil.
    The air is filled with a sense of festivity and the aroma of freshly harvested crops.
  5. Hemanta (Pre-Winter) – October and November:
    Hemanta is the prelude to winter when temperatures gradually start to cool, and nature prepares for the colder months ahead.
    It is a time of transition, with landscapes adorned with colourful foliage as trees shed their leaves.
    Festivals like Diwali, celebrating the triumph of light over darkness, are celebrated with lighting lamps, fireworks, and sharing sweets.
  6. Shishira (Winter) – December and January:
    Shishira is the winter season characterized by chilly temperatures, especially in the northern regions, and clear skies.
    It is a time for cosying up around bonfires, enjoying seasonal delicacies, and celebrating festivals like Christmas and Makar Sankranti.
    In some parts of India, winter heralds the blooming of flowers like the saffron crocus, adding colour to the wintry landscape.

The traditional division of the year into six seasons reflects the deep connection between nature, culture, and daily life in India, where each season is celebrated and cherished for its unique offerings and symbolism.

Seasons of India, Winter, Summer, Monsoon, and Autumn_7.1

Sharing is caring!


What are the 6 seasons in India?

Vasanta (Spring), Grishma(Summer), Varsha (Monsoon), Sharad(Autumn), Hemanta (pre-winter) and Shishira (winter) and this are called Ritu's.

What are the different seasons and months?

- Cold Weather Season (Winter) from December to February; - Hot Weather Season (Summer) from March to May; - South-West Monsoom Season (Rainy) from June to September; - Season of Retreating Monsoon (Autumn) from October and November.

What are the 6 Ritu names?

The twelve months in a year are divided into six seasons of two-month duration each. These seasons include Vasant Ritu (Spring), Grishma Ritu (Summer), Varsha Ritu (Monsoon), Sharad Ritu (Autumn), Hemant Ritu (Pre-Winter) and Shishir Ritu (Winter).

How many seasons are in 12 months?

Unsourced material may be challenged and removed. Ritu (Sanskrit: ऋतु) means "season" in different ancient Indian calendars used in India, Bangladesh, Nepal and Sri Lanka. There are six ritus (also transliterated ritu) or seasons. Seasons are different times of the year and there are 12 months in the year.

What are the 4 seasons in India?

The Indian Meteorological Department (IMD) designates four official seasons:
Winter, from December to early April.
Summer or pre-monsoon, from April to June (April to July in north-western India)
Monsoon or rainy, from June to September.
Post-monsoon, from October to December.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *