Home   »   List of Ramsar Sites   »   List of Ramsar Sites

5 New Indian Wetlands Recognized as Ramsar Sites

Indian Wetlands Recognized as Ramsar Sites- Relevance for UPSC Exam

  • GS Paper 3: Environment- Conservation, environmental pollution and degradation.

5 New Indian Wetlands Recognized as Ramsar Sites_30.1


Indian Wetlands Recognized as Ramsar Sites in News

  • Recently, government informed that five new Indian sites have been recognised as wetlandsof international importance, as part of the Ramsar Convention.

List of Five New Wetlands designated as Ramsar Sites

  • Total Ramsar Wetland in India: With recognition of five new Indian Wetlands as the Ramsar Sites of International Importance, India has now 54 Ramsar sites in the country from the previous 49.
  • List of the New Ramsar Sites: The Newly Inducted wetland sites are from-
    • Three wetlands from Tamil Nadu-
      • Karikili Bird Sanctuary,
      • Pallikaranai Marsh Reserve Forest and
      • Pichavaram Mangrove).
    • One in Mizoram-
      • Pala wetland
    • One in Madhya Pradesh-
      • Sakhya Sagar


What is Ramsar recognition?

  • Ramsar recognition is the identification of wetlands around the world, which are of international importance, especially if they provide habitat to waterfowl(about 180 species of birds).
  • There is international interest and cooperation in the conservation of such wetlands and a judicious use of their resources.



About Ramsar convention

  • The Ramsar Convention on Wetlands is the oldest of the modern global intergovernmental environmental agreements.
  • The treaty was negotiated through the 1960s by countries and non – governmental organizations concerned about the increasing loss and degradation of wetland habitat for migratory waterbirds.
  • It was adopted in the Iranian city of Ramsar in 1971 and came into force in 1975.
  • Since then, the Convention on Wetlands has been known as the Ramsar Convention.
  • The Contracting Parties approved the Fourth Strategic Plan for 2016-2024 at COP12.
  • Ramsar Convention’s broad aims are to halt the worldwide loss of wetlands and to conserve, through wise use and management, those that remain.

Ramsar Convention on Wetlands


 What are wetlands?

  • According to WWF, a wetland is a place where the land is covered by water, either salt, fresh or somewhere in between.
  • Marshes and ponds, the edge of a lake or ocean, the delta at the mouth of a river, low-lying areas that frequently flood—all of these are wetlands.

New Ramsar Sites in India


Types of wetlands

Under the Ramsar convention, wetlands have been classified into following three categories:

  • Marine/Coastal Wetlands: includes permanent shallow marine waters; coral reefs; estuarine waters; intertidal marshes, coastal lagoons, among others.
  • Inland wetlands: includes Permanent inland deltas; Permanent rivers/streams/creeks; alpine wetlands, tundra wetlands; waterfalls; geothermal wetlands, among others.
  • Human-made wetlands: aquaculture ponds; irrigated land; water storage areas; wastewater treatment areas; Canals and drainage channels, ditches; among others.


List of Ramsar Wetland Sites in India

List of Ramsar Wetland Sites in India

Sharing is caring!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *