Latest Teaching jobs   »   Vice Presidents of India

Vice President of India List 1947 – 2022 PDF

The Office of Vice President of India is the second highest Constitutional office in the Government of India. The Vice President is the deputy to the President of India. The Current Vice President of India is Jagdeep Dhankar and he is the 14th Vice President of India. He took the charge of the office on 11th August 2022. Venkiah Naidu was the Ex-Vice President of India from 11 August 2017 till 10th August 2022. The Current President of India is Draupadi Murmu.

Who is the Vice President of India?

When the President of India is abroad or when he is unable to discharge his/her responsibility due to removal, resignation, death, impeachment or any other reason, Vice President will have to discharge the Presidential duties. According to Article 63 of the Constitution of India, there shall always be a Vice President of India. Article 65 of the Constitution of India bestows the Vice President of India with the responsibility of taking an important decision as a Deputy of the President of India.

Eligibility of Vice President of India

The Vice President of India must have the following qualifications and the eligibility criteria mentioned below. In case, the Vice Presidential candidates do not meet the eligibility criteria then their candidature will be rejected.

  • He must be a citizen of India.
  • He should not be less than 35 years.
  • He must be eligible for election as a member of the Rajya Sabha.
  • He must not be a member of the Rajya Sabha at the time of the election of Vice President of India.
  • He should not hold any office of profit under the Government of India or any State Government.

Term of Office for Vice President of India

The Vice President of India shall continue in office for 5 years. However, he/she can continue in the office until his/her successor assumes their office even if the 5-year term is over.

Vice President of India List

Here is the detailed Vice President of India List in detail. You will find the Tenure of all the Vice President of India along with the Presidents they have served under in the following table.

S. No. Vice-President Tenure (From) Tenure (To)  President
1 Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan 13th May 1952 12th May 1962 Dr. Rajendra Prasad
2 Dr. Zakir Hussain 13th May 1962 12th May 1967 Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan
3 Varahagiri Venkata Giri 13th May 1967 20th July 1969 Dr. Zakir Hussain
4 Gopal Swarup Pathak 31stth August 1969 30th August 1974 V. V. Giri
Dr. Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed
5 Basappa Danappa Jatti 31st August 1974 30th August 1979 Dr. Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed
Neelam Sanjiva Reddy
6 Justice Muhammad Hidayatullah 31st August 1979 30th August 1984 Neelam Sanjiva Reddy
Giani Zail Singh
7 Ramaswamy Venkataraman 31st August 1984 24th July 1987 Giani Zail Singh
8 Shankar Dayal Sharma 7th September 1987 24th July 1992 Ramaswamy Venkataraman
9 Kocheril Raman Narayanan 21st August 1992 24th July 1997 Shankar Dayal Sharma
10 Krishan Kant 21st August 1997 27th July 2002 Kocheril Raman Narayanan
A. P. J. Abdul Kalam
11 Bhairon Singh Shekhawat 19th August 2002 21st July 2007 A. P. J. Abdul Kalam
12 Mohammad Hamid Ansari 11th August 2007 10th August 2017 Pratibha Patil
Pranab Mukherjee
Ram Nath Kovind
13 M Venkaiah Naidu 11th August 2017 10th August 2022 Ram Nath Kovind
Draupadi Murmu
14 Jagdeep Dhankhar 11th August 2022 Incumbent Draupadi Murmu

Vice President of India: FAQs

Q: Who is the first woman Vice-President of India?

A: India Never Had A Female Vice-President.

Q: Who is the current Vice-President of India?

A: The Current Vice-President Of India Is Jagdeep Dhankhar.

Q: Who was the first Vice-President of India?

A: Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan Was The First Vice-President Of India. He Served From 13 May 1952 To 12 May 1962.

Q: Which article of the Indian Constitution states that ‘There shall be a Vice-President of India’?

A: Article 63 of the Indian Constitution states that ‘There shall be a Vice-President of India’.

Q: How can a Vice-President be removed from the office?

A: A Vice-President can be removed from office by the full process of impeachment, or the Rajya Sabha can remove VP by passing a resolution with an absolute majority but the consent of the Lok Sabha is necessary.

Q: What is the tenure of the acting President?

A: Vice President can work as an acting President for a maximum period of 6 months.

Q: The post of Vice-President of India has been taken from which constitution?

A: The post of Vice President of India is taken from the US Constitution.

Q: Name the Vice-Presidents who were elected unopposed?

A: Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, Hidayatullah, Shankar Dayal Sharma served as Vice-Presidents and were elected unopposed.

Sharing is caring!

Thank You, Your details have been submitted we will get back to you.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.