Home   »   List of Manipur Governors 1972-2023

List of Manipur Governors 1972-2023 PDF Download

List of Manipur Governors 1972-2023 PDF Download_20.1

For individuals aspiring to secure Teaching Government Jobs in India, the General Awareness section holds immense significance in various government exams. Therefore, it is essential to prioritize General Knowledge while preparing for these exams, which involves staying up-to-date with national and international current affairs and revising static GK topics. This article is particularly relevant for those appearing for Teaching Job Exams in recent years, as it provides a comprehensive list of Manipur Governors from 1947-2023, a topic that has frequently been featured in these exams.

List of Assam Governor 

Manipur Governors 1972-2023

The state of Manipur attained statehood in 1972 and B. K. Nehru became the First Manipur Governor on 21st January 1972. The Governor of Manipur is appointed by the President of India as the titular head of the state. The Governor’s responsibilities include conducting the swearing-in of the Chief Minister and other ministers, convening meetings of the state legislative assembly, and approving bills passed by the assembly. Additionally, the Governor has the authority to dismiss the state government in the event of a constitutional crisis.

List of Jharkhand Governors

List of Manipur Governors 1972-2023

Here is the List of Manipur Governors from 1972 to 2023. The candidates preparing for the Teaching Government Jobs must read the following table carefully and thoroughly.

List of Manipur Governors 1972 to 2023
Name  Took Office Left Office
B. K. Nehru 21 January 1972 20 September 1973
L.P. Singh 21 September 1973 11 August 1981
S. M. H. Burney 18 August 1981 11 June 1984
K. V. Krishna Rao 2 June 1984 7 July 1989
Chintamani Panigrahi 10 July 1989 19 March 1993
K. V. Raghunatha Reddy 20 March 1993 30 August 1993
Lt.Gen. V. K. Nayar 31 August 1993 22 December 1994
O.N. Shrivastava 23 December 1994 11 February 1999
Ved Marwah 2 December 1999 12 June 2003
Arvind Dave 13 June 2003 5 August 2004
Shivinder Singh Sidhu 6 August 2004 22 July 2008
Gurbachan Jagat 23 July 2008 22 July 2013
Ashwani Kumar 23 July 2013 31 December 2013
Vinod Duggal 31 December 2013 28 August 2014
K. K. Paul (additional charge) 16 September 2014 15 May 2015
Syed Ahmed 16 May 2015 27 September 2015
V. Shanmuganathan (additional charge) 30 September 2015 17 August 2016
Najma A. Heptulla 21 August 2016 26 June 2019
Padmanabha Acharya (additional charge) 27 June 2019
(Assumed charge in Heptulla’s absence)
23 July 2019
Najma Heptulla 24 July 2019 10 August 2021
Ganga Prasad (additional charge) 12 August 2021
(Assumed charge in Heptulla’s absence)
26 August 2021
La. Ganesan 27 August 2021 12 February 2023
Anusuiya Uikey 12 February 2023 Incumbent



Important Links
President of India List  Vice President of India List
List of Manipur Governors  List of Assam Governors 
List of Tamilnadu Governors List of Kerala Governors 
List of Governors in Karnataka List of Uttarakhand Governors
List of Jharkhand Governors List of Bihar Governors
List of Maharashtra Governors List of Rajasthan Governors


Who is the current Manipur Governor?

The Current Manipur Governor is Anusuiya Uikey.

Who was the first Manipur Governor?

The First Manipur governor is B. K. Nehru from 21st January 1972 to 20 September 1973.

Who is the first female Manipur Governor?

The first female Manipur Governor is Najma A. Heptulla from 21 August 2016 to 26 June 2019.