Home   »   List of Karnataka Governors 1947- 2023

List of Karnataka Governors 1947- 2023 PDF Download

List of Karnataka Governors 1947- 2023

The Teaching aspirants who are preparing for the upcoming Teaching Exams 2023 must go through all the crucial and vital General Awareness topics. They must have a good grip on current affairs, static GK and trending topics of national and international topics. One such very important Static GK topic is the Governor of all India States.  Therefore, in the following article, we will discuss the List of Karnataka Governors from 1947 -2023. Read the following article carefully to prepare better for the upcoming Government Teaching Exams.

Karnataka Governors 1947- 2023

The Karnataka Governor, formerly Governor of Mysore, is the constitutional head of Karnataka, an India State in the Souther part of the country. The state of Karnataka was formerly known as Mysore and Maharaja  Jayachamarajendra Wadiyar was the rajpramuskh of Mysore from 1950 to 1956. On 1st November 1973, Mysore was renamed Karnataka. Since 1956, the state has witnessed 18 Governors of Karnataka.

List of Karnataka Governors 1947- 2023

Check out the List of Karnataka Governors 1947- 2023 in detail. The candidates will find the name of the Governors along with dates on which they took charge of their office and end of their tenure.

Name Term of office Selected former office(s)
Jayachamarajendra Wadiyar 1 November 1956 4 May 1964 Maharaja of Mysore, Rajpramukh of Mysore
S. M. Shrinagesh 4 May 1964 2 April 1965 Chief of the Army Staff
V. V. Giri 2 April 1965 13 May 1967 Fourth President of India
Gopal Swarup Pathak 13 May 1967 30 August 1969 Fourth Vice-President of India
Justice Somanath Iyer (Acting) 30 August 1969 23 October 1969 Chief Justice of Karnataka High Court
Dharma Vira 23 October 1970 1 February 1972 Governor of Punjab, Haryana, and West Bengal
Mohanlal Sukhadia 1 February 1972 10 January 1976 Chief Minister of Rajasthan, Governor of Andhra Pradesh and Tamil Nadu
Uma Shankar Dikshit 10 January 1976 2 August 1977 Governor of West Bengal and the Minister of Home Affairs
Govind Narain 2 August 1977 15 April 1982 First and the only member of the Imperial Civil Service to have been appointed and served as Governor of Karnataka
Ashoknath Banerji 16 April 1982 25 February 1987 First member of the Indian Administrative Service to have served in this office
Pendekanti Venkatasubbaiah 26 February 1987 5 February 1990 Governor of Bihar, Minister of Home and Parliamentary Affairs
S. Mohan (Acting) 5 February 1990 8 May 1990 Chief Justice of Karnataka High Court, Judge of the Supreme Court of India
Bhanu Pratap Singh 8 May 1990 6 January 1992 Governor of Goa
Khurshed Alam Khan 6 January 1992 2 December 1999 Member of Parliament, Governor of Goa
V. S. Ramadevi 2 December 1999 20 August 2002 Chief Election Commissioner of India, Secretary General of Rajya Sabha, Governor of Himachal Pradesh, the first and only female governor of Karnataka
T. N. Chaturvedi 21 August 2002 20 August 2007 Comptroller and Auditor General of India
Rameshwar Thakur 21 August 2007 24 June 2009 Governor of Odisha, Andhra Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, & Rajasthan (Additional charge)
Hansraj Bhardwaj 24 June 2009 29 June 2014 Union Minister of Law and Justice, Governor of Kerala
Konijeti Rosaiah 29 June 2014 31 August 2014 Former Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh, Governor of Tamil Nadu
Vajubhai Rudabhai Vala 1 September 2014 10 July 2021 Speaker of Gujarat Vidhan Sabha
Thawar Chand Gehlot 11 July 2021 Incumbent Union Minister for Social Justice and Empowerment, Leader of the House in Rajya Sabha



Important Links
President of India List  Vice President of India List
List of Manipur Governors  List of Assam Governors 
List of Tamilnadu Governors List of Kerala Governors 
List of Governors in Karnataka List of Uttarakhand Governors
List of Jharkhand Governors List of Bihar Governors
List of Maharashtra Governors List of Rajasthan Governors


Who is the Governor of Karnataka in 1947?

In 1947, Maharaja Jayachamarajendra Wadiyar became the Rajpramukh of Mysore (Noow Karnataka).

Who is the 13th Governor of Karnataka?

V. S. Ramadevi is the 13th and only Female Governor of Karnatak till date.

Who is the longest Governor of Karnataka?

Khurshed Alam Khan is the longest serving Governor of Karnataka with a tenure of 7 years and 330 days.