Home   »   Governor of Maharashtra List

Governor of Maharashtra List 1947-2023 PDF Download

Governor of Maharashtra List 1947-2023_20.1

Candidates Preparing for Government Teaching Jobs need to have a comprehensive understanding of the syllabus and exam pattern of the respective exams. One of the most common sections in Teaching Job Exams is the General Awareness section. The candidates are required to stay updated with the current affairs of national and international importance to easily deal with the general awareness section. In the following article, the candidates will find one such important topic -Governor of Maharashtra List 1947 to 2023.

List of Governors in Karnataka

Governor of Maharashtra

The titular head of the state of Maharashtra is the Maharashtra Governor, who is appointed by the President of India and acts as the representative of both the President and the Union government within the state. Though the Governor’s role is mainly ceremonial, they are responsible for several important duties, such as administering the oath of office to the Chief Minister of Maharashtra and other cabinet ministers of Maharashtra, convening the state legislative assembly, and granting assent to bills passed by the assembly. Additionally, the Governor has the authority to dismiss the state government if there is a breakdown of constitutional machinery. The current Maharashtra Governor is Ramesh Bais since 18 February 2023.

List of Tamilnadu Governors

Governor of Maharashtra List 1947-2023

Here is the Governor of Maharashtra List 1947-2023 given below in detail. The candidates must go through the list to find the name of the Governor of Maharashtra from 1947-2023 along with their tenure of office.

Governor of Maharashtra List 1947-2023
Name  Term of Office
Raja Sir Maharaj Singh, CIE 6 January 1948 30 May 1952
Sir Girija Shankar Bajpai, KCSI, KBE, CIE 30 May 1952 5 December 1954
Dr. Harekrushna Mahatab 2 March 1955 14 October 1956
Sri Prakasa 10 December 1956 16 April 1962
Dr P. Subbarayan 17 April 1962 6 October 1962
Vijaya Lakshmi Pandit 28 November 1962 18 October 1964
Dr. P V Cherian 14 November 1964 8 November 1969
Ali Yavar Jung 26 February 1970 11 December 1976
Sri Sadiq Ali 30 April 1977 3 November 1980
O P Mehra 3 November 1980 5 March 1982
Idris Hasan Latif 6 March 1982 16 April 1985
Peer Mohammed (acting) 19 April 1985 30 May 1985
Kona Prabhakara Rao 31 May 1985 2 April 1986
Dr. Shankar Dayal Sharma 3 April 1986 2 September 1987
Kasu Brahmananda Reddy 20 February 1988 18 January 1990
Dr. C Subramaniam 15 February 1990 9 January 1993
Dr. P.C. Alexander 12 January 1993 13 July 2002
Mohammed Fazal 10 October 2002 5 December 2004
S.M. Krishna 12 December 2004 5 March 2008
S.C. Jamir 9 March 2008 22 January 2010
Kateekal Sankaranarayanan 22 January 2010 24 August 2014
Chennamaneni Vidyasagar Rao 30 August 2014 4 September 2019
Bhagat Singh Koshyari 05 September 2019 17 February 2023
Ramesh Bais 18 February 2023 Incumbent

Governor of Maharashtra Responsibility

The Governor in Maharashtra holds a multifaceted role, serving as both the ceremonial head of the state and the chief executive authority. They are responsible for summoning and proroguing the state legislature, delivering the Governor of Maharashtra’s Address, and granting assent to bills passed by the legislature. Additionally, the Governor of Maharashtra plays a crucial constitutional role in safeguarding and upholding the Indian Constitution, with limited discretionary powers in appointing members to the state council of ministers.

In times of constitutional crisis, they can recommend the imposition of President’s Rule, and during emergencies, they have special powers. Overall, the Governor of Maharashtra’s responsibilities encompass a blend of executive, legislative, constitutional, and emergency functions aimed at ensuring the efficient governance and constitutional integrity of the state.



Important Links
President of India List  Vice President of India List
List of Manipur Governors  List of Assam Governors 
List of Tamilnadu Governors List of Kerala Governors 
List of Governors in Karnataka List of Uttarakhand Governors
List of Jharkhand Governors List of Bihar Governors
List of Maharashtra Governors List of Rajasthan Governors


Who is the first Governor of Maharashtra?

The first Governor of Maharashtra is Raja Sir Maharaj Singh, CIE from 6 January 1948 to 30 May 1952.

Who is the Current Governor of Maharashtra?

The current Governor of Maharashtra is Ramesh Bais since 18 February 2023.

Who is the 18th Governor of Maharashtra?

S.M. Krishna was the 18th Governor of Maharashtra from 12 December 2004 to 5 March 2008.