Home   »   List of Congress Presidents (1885-1947)   »   List of Congress Presidents (1885-1947)

List of Congress Presidents (1885-1947)


Year Location President Importance
1885 Bombay W C Bonnerjee 1st session attended by 72 delegates
1886 Calcutta Dadabhai Naoroji National Congress and National Conference
1887 Madras Syed Badruddin Tyabji Appeal made to Muslims to join hands with other national leaders
1888 Allahabad George Yule First English president
1889 Bombay Sir William Wedderburn
1890 Calcutta Feroz Shah Mehta
1891 Nagpur P. Ananda Charlu
1892 Allahabad W C Bonnerjee
1893 Lahore Dadabhai Naoroji
1894 Madras Alfred Webb
1895 Poona Surendranath Banerjee
1896 Calcutta Rahimtullah M. Sayani  ‘Vande Mataram’ sung for the first time.
1897 Amravati C. Sankaran Nair
1898 Madras Ananda Mohan Bose
1899 Lucknow Romesh Chandra Dutt
1900 Lahore N G Chandavarkar
1901 Calcutta Dinshaw E. Wacha
1902 Ahmedabad Surendranath Banerjee
1903 Madras Lal Mohan Ghosh
1904 Bombay Sir Henry Cotton
1905 Benares Gopal Krishna Gokhale Expressed resentment against the partition of Bengal
1906 Calcutta Dadabhai Naoroji The word ‘Swaraj’ was mentioned for the first time
1907 Surat Rash Behari Ghosh Party splits into extremists and moderates
1908 Madras Rash Behari Ghosh
1909 Lahore Madan Mohan Malaviya Indian Councils Act, 1909
1910 Allahabad Sir William Wedderburn
1911 Calcutta Bishan Narayan Dhar ‘Jana Gana Mana’ sung for the first time
1912 Bankipore (Patna) Raghunath Narasinha Mudholkar
1913 Karachi Syed Mohammed
1914 Madras Bhupendra Nath Basu
1915 Bombay Satyendra Prasanna Sinha
1916 Lucknow Ambica Charan Mazumdar Lucknow Pact – joint session with the Muslim League
1917 Calcutta Annie Besant First woman president of the INC
1918 Bombay And Delhi Syed Hasan Imam (Bombay) And Madan Mohan Malaviya (Delhi) Two sessions were held. First in Bombay in August/September Second in Delhi in December
1919 Amritsar Motilal Nehru Congress extended support to Khilafat Movement
1920 Calcutta Lala Lajpat Rai Mahatma Gandhi moved the Non cooperation resolution
1920 Nagpur C Vijayaraghavachariar – Reconstitution of Working committees of Congress on Linguistic basis

Jinnah left the INC

1921 Ahmedabad Hakim Ajmal Khan (acting President For C R Das)
1922 Gaya C R Das CR Das and other leaders broke away from INC

Formation of Swaraj Party

1923 Kakinada Maulana Mohammad Ali,
1924 Belgaum M K Gandhi – Only Session presided over by Mahatma Gandhi
1925 Kanpur Sarojini Naidu First Indian woman president
1926 Guwahati S Srinivasa Iyengar
1927 Madras M A Ansari – Passed a resolution against boycott of Simon Commission

Adoption of resolution on Purna Swaraj

1928 Calcutta Motilal Nehru All India Youth Congress formed
1929 Lahore Jawaharlal Nehru Resolution for ‘Poorna Swaraj.’ Civil Disobedience movement for complete independence to be launched, 26 January to be observed as ‘Independence Day’.
1930 No Session
1931 Karachi Vallabhbhai Patel Resolution on fundamental rights and national economic progress. Gandhi-Irwin pact endorsed. Gandhi nominated to represent INC in the 2nd round table conference
1932 Delhi Amrit Ranchhorddas Seth
1933 Calcutta Malaviya Was Elected But Mrs Nellie Sengupta Presided
1934 Bombay Rajendra Prasad
1937 Lucknow Jawaharlal Nehru
1936 Faizpur Jawaharlal Nehru First rural session/first session to be held in a village
1938 Haripura Subhas Chandra Bose National planning committee set up under Nehru
1939 Tripuri Subhas Chandra Bose Bose was elected but had to resign since Gandhi supported Pattabhi Sitaramayya. Instead, Rajendra Prasad was appointed
1940 Ramgarh Abul Kalam Azad – Civil Disobedience movement to be launched at appropriate time and circumstances.
1941-45 No session because of arrest
1946 Meerut Acharya Kripalani Last session before independence
1948 Jaipur Pattabhi Sitaramayya First session after independence


Also read: List of Governor-General and Viceroys of India

Sharing is caring!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *