Home   »   Buddhism in India   »   National Emblem of India

Dhammacakka Day 2022- National Emblem of India

National Emblem of India- Relevance for UPSC Exam

  • GS Paper 1: Indian History- Indian culture will cover the salient aspects of Art Forms, Literature and Architecture from ancient to modern times.

Dhammacakka Day 2022- National Emblem of India_3.1


Dhammacakka Day 2022 in News

  • Recently, the President of India, Shri Ram Nath Kovind addressed the Dhammacakka Day 2022 celebrations at Sarnath, Uttar Pradesh today through a video message.

Dhammacakka Day 2022- National Emblem of India_4.1


Dhammacakka Day 2022

  • About: Dhammacakka Day 2022 commemorates Buddha’s First Sermon or the First Turning of the Wheel of Dhamma.
    • On this day, he taught the Dhammacakka-pavattana Sutta (Pali) or Dharmacakra pravartana Sutra (Sanskrit).
  • Organizing Ministry: The Ministry of Culture in association with the International Buddhist Confederation is celebrating the Āshaḍha Pūrṇima Divas, as part of Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav.
  • Significance: Dhammacakka Day 2022 (Ashadha Purnima) is the second most important sacred day of observance for Buddhists after Vaishakha Buddha Purnima.



National Emblem of India

  • About: National Emblem of India is an adaptation from the Sarnath Lion Capital of Ashoka. Ashokan Pillar of Sarnath is located at Sarnath near Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh.
  • Key Features: In the original, there are four lions, standing back to back, mounted on an abacus with a frieze carrying sculptures in high relief of an elephant, a galloping horse, a bull and a lion separated by intervening wheels over a bell-shaped lotus.
    • Carved out of a single block of polished sandstone, the Capital is crowned by the Wheel of the Law (Dharma Chakra).
    • Two-dimensional picture of Sarnath Pillar is the Official symbol of Government of India.
    • National Emblem shows only three of Four Lions, symbolizing Power, Courage and Confidence.
    • Base of the State Emblem have Dharma Chakra in the centre and bull and a horse on either side of it.
    • Satyameva Jayate is written on it in Devanagari script which itself traces its origin to the Mudraka Upanishad
  • Importance of Sarnath: It is one of the four main places in Buddhism –
    • Bodh Gaya: Buddha attained enlightenment;
    • Sarnath: Buddha gave his first sermon;
    • Shravasti: Buddha spent most Chaturmases and gave most of the sermons; and
    • Kushinagar: Buddha attained the Mahaparinirvana.

Mahaparinirvana Temple

Mahaparinirvana Temple

Sharing is caring!