Latest Teaching jobs   »   Official Language of India

Most spoken Languages in India State Wise

Most spoken Languages in India State Wise_30.1

India is a land of diverse cultures, traditions, cuisines, lifestyles, fashion senses, and Languages. India is linguistically a very diverse country. There are a total of 121 languages and 240 mother tongues. It is said that a person will find a new language or dialect every 20 km. In fact, there is a proverb in India which reflects this fact very effectively- “Every two miles the water changes, every four miles the speech.” In every state, a different language is spoken. In this article, you will find a list of languages spoken in India in different states.

What is the Official Language of India?

According to the Eighth Schedule of the Constitution of India, there are 22 languages are considered the Scheduled Languages of India. However, the Union of India has declared English and Hindi as the Official Languages of India. Though every state of India has chosen an Official Language respectively on basis of the most spoken language of the particular state. In the following table, you will find the list of Scheduled Languages of India.

22 Scheduled Languages of India

Assamese Bengali
Gujarati Hindi
Kannada Kashmiri
Konkani Malayalam
Manipuri Marathi
Nepali Oriya
Punjabi Sanskrit
Sindhi Tamil
Telugu Urdu
Bodo Santhali
Maithali Dogra

Most spoken Languages in India State Wise

Here is the list of the Most spoken Languages in India State Wise. you must carefully go through the following table to find the official and others languages spoken in each state in India.

S.No. State Official Languages Second Official Language(s)
1. Andhra Pradesh Telugu English, Urdu, Tamil
2. Arunachal Pradesh English Nishi, Adi, Apatani, Tagin
3. Assam Assamese Bengali, Bodo, Hindi
4. Bihar Hindi Maithili, Bajjika, Angika, Magahi/Magadhi, Bhojpuri, Urdu
5. Chhattisgarh Hindi Chhattisgarhi, Odia, Bengali, Telugu, Marathi
6. Goa Konkani, English Marathi, Kannada, Hindi, Urdu
7. Gujarat Gujarati Hindi, Marathi, Sindhi, Urdu
8. Haryana Hindi English, Punjabi, Urdu, Haryanvi
9. Himachal Pradesh Hindi Sanskrit, Pahadi Languages, Punjabi, Dogri
10. Jharkhand Hindi Angika, Bengali, Bhojpuri, Ho, Kharia, Khortha, Kurmali, Kurukh, Magahi, Maithili, Mundari, Nagpuri, Odia, Santali and Urdu
11. Karnataka Kannada English, Urdu, Kodava, Tulu, Konkani, Beary, Malayalam
12. Kerala Malayalam English, Tulu, Konkani, Kannada, Tamil
13. Madhya Pradesh Hindi Marathi, Urdu, Sindhi, Gujarati
14. Maharashtra Marathi Hindi, Urdu, Gujarati, Telugu
15. Manipur Manipuri English, Meitei, Hindi, Bengali, Nepali
16. Meghalaya English Khasi and Garo, Bengali, Nepali, Hindi
17. Mizoram Mizo English, Hindi, Meitei, Chakma
18. Nagaland English Naga languages, Hindi, Assamese, Meitei
19. Odisha Odia Hindi, Santali, Urdu, Telugu
20. Punjab Punjabi Hindi, Urdu, Bengali, English
21. Rajasthan Hindi Rajasthani languages, Punjabi, Gujarati, Sindhi, Urdu
22. Sikkim English, Nepali, Sikkimese, Lepcha Gurung, Limbu, Magar, Mukhia, Newari, Rai, Sherpa and Tamang
23. Tamil Nadu Tamil English, Telugu, Kannada, Urdu, Malayalam
24. Telangana Telugu Urdu, Lambadi, Marathi, Hindi
25. Tripura Bengali, English, Kokborok Chakma, Meitei
26. Uttar Pradesh Hindi Urdu, Punjabi, Nepali, Bengali
27. Uttarakhand Hindi Sanskrit, Garhwali, Kumaoni, Urdu, Punjabi
28. West Bengal Bengali, English Nepali, Urdu, Hindi, Odia, Santali, Punjabi, Kamtapuri, Rajbanshi, Kurmali, Kurukh and Telugu


Most spoken Languages in India State Wise & Union Territory

In the following table, you will find the list of Most spoken Languages in India Union Territory. There are 8 Union Territories in India and you will find the languages spoken in each of the Union Territories of India.

S.No. Union Territories Official Languages Second Official Language(s)
1. Andaman and Nicobar Islands Hindi, English
2. Chandigarh English Punjabi, Hindi, Urdu
3. Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu Gujarati, Konkani, Marathi, Hindi Bengali
4. Delhi Hindi, English Urdu, Bengali, and Punjabi
5. Lakshadweep Malayalam English, Dhivehi, Tamil, Hindi, Telugu
6. Jammu and Kashmir Kashmiri, Dogri, Hindi, Urdu, English Punjabi, Urdu
7. Ladakh Hindi, English
8. Puducherry Tamil, French, English Telugu and Malayalam

What is the National Language of India?

As we have mentioned earlier, India is a linguistically rich country. In every part of the Nation, a different language is spoken, thus it was difficult to declare any single language as the National Language of India. Instead, India has two Official Languages- Hindi and English.

Note: The candidates preparing for the competitive exams, must go through the table above with utmost caution as the table mentioned the Official and Second Official Language of individual States.

Most spoken Languages in India State Wise: FAQs

Q: Which Indian language is the official language of India?

A: Hindi is the Indian Language that is considered the Official Language of India. English is the other Official Language of India.

Q: What is the National Language of India?

A: India has No National Language.

Q: How many languages are listed in the Eighth Schedule to the Indian Constitution?

A: There are 22 Scheduled Languages in India as per the Eighth Schedule of the Constitution of India. These languages are Assamese, Bengali, Bodo, Dogri, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Kashmiri, Konkani, Maithili, Malayalam, Manipuri, Marathi, Nepali, Odia, Punjabi, Sanskrit, Santali, Sindhi, Tamil, Telugu, And Urdu.

Q: What are the two official languages of India?

A: Hindi and English are the two Official Languages of India.

Important Links
President of India List  Vice President of India List
Indian Freedom Fighters Contribution Bihar Bed GK Questions
List of Chief Justice of India 1950-2022 REET GK Questions
How Many Planets in the Solar System? Important Days
UP Bed GK Questions Statue of Equality
REET GK Questions State and Capitals
Current Chief Minister of India First in India Male
Famous Temples in India President Election Process