Home   »   National Sports Awards 2022 Announced   »   FIFA World Cup 2022

FIFA World Cup 2022: All Details for UPSC

Significance of FIFA World Cup 2022 for UPSC


  • Although India is not a part of the Fifa World Cup 2022, it is the biggest tournament of the World’s most popular sport i.e football. So, from the UPSC Prelims perspective only, this is an important international sporting event to crack some MCQs.
  • From UPSC mains perspective also, Fifa World Cup 2022 and related events are crucial to some extent.


Why is FIFA World Cup 2022 in news?


  • The FIFA World Cup in Qatar starts tomorrow i.e November 20, 2022.
  • Vice President Jagdeep Dhankhar will represent India at the opening event of FIFA World Cup 2022, on the invitation of Sheikh Tamim bin Hamad Al Thani, Amir of the State of Qatar.
  • At 29 days from start to finish (20 November to 18 December), this will be the shortest World Cup since Argentina 1978.


Know about FIFA World Cup


  • The FIFA World Cup is considered to be the pinnacle of international footballing events since its inception in 1930.
  • The tournament is held at a duration of every four years since its inaugural edition, except for the 1942 and 1946 editions, which were canceled due to World War 2.

Fifa World Cup 2022 teams

  • A total of 32 nations will take part in the group stage of the upcoming tournament.
  • While the teams have been divided into eight groups of four teams each, the top two teams from each group will advance into the next round.

Group-wise division of countries at FIFA World Cup 2022 Qatar

    • Group A: Qatar, Ecuador, Senegal, Netherlands
    • Group B: England, Iran, United States, Wales
    • Group C: Argentina, Saudi Arabia, Mexico, Poland
    • Group D: France, Australia, Denmark, Tunisia
    • Group E: Spain, Costa Rica, Germany, Japan
    • Group F: Belgium, Canada, Morocco, Croatia
    • Group G: Brazil, Serbia, Switzerland, Cameroon
    • Group H: Portugal, Ghana, Uruguay, South Korea


Sri Kanaka Dasa_70.1


Who is the mascot for the FIFA World Cup 2022


  • The mascot for the FIFA World Cup 2022 is ‘La’eeb’.
  • It is inspired by the keffiyeh, a traditional headdress worn by Arab men.
La'eb: The Mascot of FIFA World Cup 2022
La’eb: The Mascot of FIFA World Cup 2022
  • ‘La’eeb’ in Arabic translates to ‘super-skilled player’, in anticipation of the hundreds of footballers about to land in the country.
  • It is made of a piece of clothing.


Why was Qatar chosen as the FIFA World Cup 2022 host?


  • In 2010, Qatar clinched the rights to the World Cup after winning a ballot of Fifa’s 22 executive members, beating bids from the US, South Korea, Japan and Australia.
  • It is the first Arab nation to host the tournament.


How this FIFA World Cup 2022 is different?


  • At 29 days from start to finish (20 November to 18 December), this will be the shortest World Cup since Argentina 1978.
  • That means organizers have to squeeze in four games most days during the group stages – at 10:00, 13:00, 16:00 and 19:00 GMT. Most World Cups in recent memory have had three a day.
  • There is also no turnaround time between the groups and the knockout stages, with the last 16 starting the day after the group stages end.
  • Seven of the eight World Cup stadiums have been built from scratch for this tournament. Seven of the eight will have seats removed after the tournament. and Stadium 974, which is made of shipping containers, will be entirely disassembled.


List of countries that have qualified for FIFA World Cup 2022


This year a total of 32 countries are now set to fight for the prestigious trophy at the FIFA World Cup 2022 in Qatar.


Belgium(BEL) Brazil(BRA) Cameroon(CMR) Canada(Can) Costa Rica(CRC) Croatia(CRO) Denmark(
Flag FIFA World Cup 2022_5.1 FIFA World Cup 2022_6.1 FIFA World Cup 2022_7.1 FIFA World Cup 2022_8.1 FIFA World Cup 2022_9.1 FIFA World Cup 2022_10.1 FIFA World Cup 2022_11.1 FIFA World Cup 2022_12.1 FIFA World Cup 2022_13.1
Euador(ECU) England(ENG) France(FRA) Germany(GER) Ghana Iran(IRN) Japan(JPN) Korea Republic(KOR) Mexico(MEX) Morocco(MAR)
FIFA World Cup 2022_14.1 FIFA World Cup 2022_15.1 FIFA World Cup 2022_16.1 FIFA World Cup 2022_17.1 FIFA World Cup 2022_18.1 FIFA World Cup 2022_19.1 FIFA World Cup 2022_20.1 FIFA World Cup 2022_21.1 FIFA World Cup 2022_22.1 FIFA World Cup 2022_23.1
Netherlands(NED) Poland(POL) Portugal(POR) Qatar(QAT) Saudi Arabia(KSA) Senegal(SEN) Serbia(SRB) Spain(ESP) Switzerland(SUI) Tunisia
FIFA World Cup 2022_24.1 FIFA World Cup 2022_25.1 FIFA World Cup 2022_26.1 FIFA World Cup 2022_27.1 FIFA World Cup 2022_28.1 FIFA World Cup 2022_29.1 FIFA World Cup 2022_30.1 FIFA World Cup 2022_31.1 FIFA World Cup 2022_32.1 FIFA World Cup 2022_33.1
United States(USA) Uruguay(URU) Wales(WAL)
FIFA World Cup 2022_34.1 FIFA World Cup 2022_35.1 FIFA World Cup 2022_36.1



List of FIFA World Cup winners(1930-2018)

Here’s the complete list of winners and runners-up so far in the FIFA World Cup, from 1930 to 2018.

Year Winners Runners-up Host country
1930 Uruguay Argentina Uruguay
1934 Italy Czechia Italy
1938 Italy Hungary France
1950 Uruguay Brazil Brazil
1954 Germany Hungary Switzerland
1958 Brazil Sweden Sweden
1962 Brazil Czechia Chile
1966 England Germany England
1970 Brazil Italy Mexico
1974 Germany Netherlands West Germany
1978 Argentina Netherlands Argentina
1982 Italy Germany Spain
1986 Argentina Germany Mexico
1990 Germany Argentina Italy
1994 Brazil Italy United States
1998 France Brazil France
2002 Brazil Germany South Korea, Japan
2006 Italy France Germany
2010 Spain Netherlands South Africa
2014 Germany Argentina Brazil
2018 France Croatia Russia


FAQs on FIFA World Cup 2022


Q. Which country won the last FIFA world cup in 2018?

Ans. France won the 2018 edition of the FIFA World Cup in Russia and is now headed into Qatar as the defending champions, eyeing their third title.

Q. Which country has won the maximum FIFA World Cup title so far?

Ans. Brazil has emerged as the most successful team at the FIFA World Cup events so far with a total of five titles to their credit so far.

Q. Which was the first WC final decided by a penalty shootout?

Ans. The first World Cup final decided in the penalty shootout was played between Brazil and Italy on July 18, 1994, at Rose Bowl in Pasadena.


National Sports Awards 2022 Announced | Key Highlights for UPSC

Sharing is caring!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *