UPSC Exam   »   National Water Development Agency (NWDA)   »   National Water Awards 2022

4th National Water Awards Launched

National Water Awards 2022- Relevance for UPSC Exam

  • GS Paper 2: Governance, Administration and Challenges- Government policies and interventions for development in various sectors and issues arising out of their design and implementation.


National Water Awards 2022 in News

  • Recently, the Ministry of Jal Shakti has launched the 4th National Water Awards on the Rashtriya Puraskar portal.



National Water Awards 2022- Key Details

  • Application Portal: All the applications for 4th National Water Awards will be received through the online Rashtriya Puraskar portal only.
  • Last Date of application: The last date for submitting application is 15thSeptember, 2022.
  • Eligibility for the awards: Any State, District, Village Panchayat, Urban Local Body, Media, School, Institution, Industry, NGO, or Water User Association that has done exemplary work in the field of water conservation and management are eligible to apply.
  • Selection Process: All applications received for the 4th National Water Awards are placed before the Jury Committee which is constituted by the Department of Water Resources, River Development, and Ganga Rejuvenation.
    • No Award is conferred except on the recommendation of the Jury Committee. The recommendation of the Committee is submitted to the Union Minister (Jal Shakti) for approval.
    • Thereafter, the names of the winners are announced on a suitable date.


National Water Awards

  • About: The National Water Awards (NWAs) were introduced to recognize and encourage exemplary work and efforts made by States, Districts, individuals, organizations, etc. across the country in accomplishing the government’s vision ‘Jal Samridh Bharat’.
  • Mandate: National Water Awards aims to sensitize the public about the importance of water and motivates them to adopt the best water usage practices.
  • Beginning: The first National Water Award was launched by the Jal Shakti Ministry in 2018. The second National Water Award was held in 2019.
  • Parent Ministry: The National Water awards are organized by the Department of Water Resources, River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation, Ministry of Jal Shakti.
  • Award Categories: Ministry of Jal Shakti is giving 57 awards to States, Organizations, Individuals, etc. in 11 different categories-
    • Best State,
    • Best District,
    • Best Village Panchayat,
    • Best Urban Local Body,
    • Best Media (Print & Electronic),
    • Best School,
    • Best Institution/RWA/Religious organization for Campus usage,
    • Best Industry,
    • Best NGO,
    • Best Water User Association, and
    • Best Industry for CSR Activity.
  • Award Prize: National Water Awards consist of a citation, trophy and cash prize.

Depletion of Groundwater Level: Steps by Government


National Water Awards- Key Objectives

  • Recognition: National Water Awards to recognize the efforts of people/organizations working in this field throughout the country across various categories to cover the maximum area possible.
  • Promote Holistic and Participative Approach: National Water Awards encourages all stakeholders including the Non-Governmental Organizations (NGOs), Gram Panchayats, Urban Local Bodies, individuals, etc. for-
    • Adopting innovative practices of groundwater augmentation by rainwater harvesting and artificial recharge,
    • Promoting water use efficiency, recycling & re-use of water.
  • Awareness Generation: National Water Awards also aims to create awareness through people’s participation in the targeted areas resulting into-
    • The sustainability of groundwater resources development,
    • Adequate capacity building amongst the stakeholders etc.


Previous National Water Awards

  • First National Water Awards: The first edition of the National Water Awards was introduced in the year 2018 by the Department. The distribution ceremony was successfully organized on 25 February 2019 in New Delhi, and 82 winners under 14 categories were awarded.
  • Second National Awards: The 2nd National Water Awards 2019 was successfully organized, and 98 winners under 16 categories were awarded by the Vice President of India on 11-12 November 2020.
  • Third National Water Awards: The 3rd National Water Awards were successfully organized on 29th March 2022 and 57 winners under 11 categories were felicitated with awards by the President of India.


National Water Development Agency (NWDA)

National Water Development Agency (NWDA)

Sharing is caring!

Thank You, Your details have been submitted we will get back to you.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.