Home   »   How many High courts in India...

How Many High Courts in India 2022?

Many Teaching Aspirants must have a clear understanding of the basic legal and judiciary system of India as often questions are asked from these sections. One such important topic is the High Courts List of India. The candidates who are preparing for teaching exams must learn by heart the All High Courts Name in India and other essential information about it. In this article, the candidates will find all the essential information and facts about the High Courts List.

How Many High Courts in India?

One of the pertinent questions is “How Many High Courts in India are there”. There are 25 High Courts in India. Among the 25 High Courts in India, 6 High Court have control over more than one State/UT. The High Courts are the highest judicial body in every state of India. According to Article 214, every state should have a High Court. Although, according to the 231 more than one or more states and/or union territories can have a common High Court.

All High Courts Name in India

Here is a High Courts List of India mentioned in detail in the following table. The candidates can find further information such as the year of establishment, jurisdiction, seat and bench of the High Courts. Check out the table for detailed information for clarity.

Est. High Court Jurisdiction Seat Benches
1862 Bombay Maharashtra

Dadra & Nagar Haveli

Daman & Diu


Mumbai Panaji,



1862 Kolkata West Bengal

Andaman & Nicobar Islands

Kolkata Port Blair
1862 Madras Tamil Nadu


Chennai Madurai
1866 Allahabad Uttar Pradesh Prayajraj Lucknow
1866 Karnataka Karnataka Bengaluru Dharwad


1916 Patna Bihar Patna
1948 Guwahati Assam



Arunachal Pradesh

Guwahati Kohima,



1949 Odisha Odisha Cuttack
1949 Rajasthan Rajasthan Jodhpur Jaipur
1956 Madhya Pradesh Madhya Pradesh Jabalpur Gwalior


1958 Kerala Kerala


1960 Gujarat Gujarat Ahmedabad
1966 Delhi Delhi Delhi
1971 Himachal Pradesh Himachal Pradesh Shimla
1975 Punjab & Haryana Punjab, Haryana


1975 Sikkim Sikkim Gangtok
2000 Chattisgarh Chattisgarh Bilaspur
2000 Uttarakhand Uttarakhand Nainital
2000 Jharkhand Jharkhand Ranchi
2013 Tripura Tripura Agartala
2013 Manipur Manipur Imphal
2013 Meghalaya Meghalaya Shillong
2019 Telangana Telangana Hyderabad
2019 Andhra Pradesh Andhra Pradesh Amravati
2019 Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh

(Note: In 1928, Jammu & Kashmir high court was established. Post-bi-furcation of J&K into two union territories; there is now a common high court.)

Jammu and Kashmir


All High Courts Name in India & Their Chief Justice

Check out the list of Chief Justices of all High Courts in India. The candidates will also find the acts under which the High Court has been established. It is very important for the candidates to know about these minor facts and information to be able to take up any challenge during the competitive exams.

High Court Chief Justice Act Established
Bombay Dipankar Datta Indian High Courts Act 1861
Calcutta Prakash Shrivastava Indian High Courts Act 1861
Madras Munishwar Nath Bhandari Indian High Courts Act 1861
Allahabad Rajesh Bindal Indian High Courts Act 1861
Karnataka Ritu Raj Awasthi Mysore High Court Act, 1884
Patna Sanjay Karol Letters Patent issued by then British Crown
Guwahati Rashmin Manharbhai Chhaya Government of India Act 1935
Odisha S. Muralidhar Orissa High Court Ordinance, 1948
Rajasthan Sambhaji Shiwaji Shinde Rajasthan High Court Ordinance, 1949
Madhya Pradesh Ravi Malimath Government of India Act 1935
Kerala S. Manikumar States Reorganisation Act, 1956
Gujarat Aravind Kumar Bombay Reorganisation Act, 1960
Delhi Satish Chandra Sharma Delhi High Court Act, 1966
Himachal Pradesh Amjad Ahtesham Sayed State of Himachal Pradesh Act, 1970
Punjab & Haryana Ravi Shankar Jha Punjab High Court Ordinance, 1947
Sikkim Biswanath Somadder The 36th Amendment to the Indian Constitution
Chattisgarh Arup Kumar Goswami Madhya Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2000
Uttarakhand Vipin Sanghi Uttar Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2000
Jharkhand Ravi Ranjan Bihar Reorganisation Act, 2000
Tripura Indrajit Mahanty North-Eastern Areas (Reorganisation) and Other Related Laws (Amendment) Act, 2012
Manipur P. V. Sanjay Kumar North-Eastern Areas (Reorganisation) and Other Related Laws (Amendment) Act, 2012
Meghalaya Sanjib Banerjee North-Eastern Areas (Reorganisation) and Other Related Laws (Amendment) Act, 2012
Telangana Ujjal Bhuyan Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2014
Andhra Pradesh Prashant Kumar Mishra Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2014
Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh Pankaj Mithal Letters Patent issued by then Maharaja of Kashmir, Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Act, 2019

High Courts List of India: FAQs

Q: Which is the 25th High Court in India?

There are 25 High Courts in India. The Calcutta High Court, established in 1862, is the oldest High Court in India. The Bombay and Madras High Courts were also established in the same year. The newest High Courts are the Telangana Court and Andhra Pradesh High Court, both established in the year 2019.
A: There are 25 High Courts in India, six having control over more than one State/UT. Delhi has a High Court of its own among the Union Territories. Each High Court shall consist of a Chief Justice and such other judges as appointed by the President of India.
Q: Which is the biggest High Court of India?
A: Allahabad High Court is the biggest High Court in India.
Important Links
CTET 2022 KVS 2022
DSSSB 2022 AEES 2022

Sharing is caring!

About the Author

I'm a content writer at Adda247, specializing in blog writing for National and State Level Competitive Government Exams for the Teaching Vertical. I research and curate genuine information to create engaging and authenticate articles. My goal is to provide valuable resources for aspiring candidates while promoting Adda247's mission.