Latest Teaching jobs   »   Cricket World Cup Winners List from...

Cricket World Cup Winners List from 1975 to 2023

Cricket World Cup Winners List from 1975 to 2023_30.1

As India is all set to host the Cricket World Cup 2023 let’s check out the history of the Cricket World Cup. Let us find out when it all started and how it has been until now. The Cricket World Cup started in 1975 when 60-over matches were played. In 1987, the Cricket World Cup introduced 50-over matches when India and Pakistan held the Cricket World Cup. It was the first time when Cricket World Cup was organised outside England. Read the following for more details on Cricket World Cup Winners list from 1975 to 2023 and more.

Cricket World Cup Winners

Since 1975, 12 Cricket World Cups have been organised and hosted by various countries. The 13th edition of the Cricket World Cup 2023 will be hosted in India. This is the first time when India will host the Cricket World Cup alone. Prior to this India Hosted Cricket World Cup thrice in collaboration with Pakistan in 1987, Sri Lanka & Pakistan in 1996 and Bangladesh & Sri Lanka in 2011.

Cricket World Cup Winners List

Here is the complete Cricket World Cup Winners List. You will find the Year these Cricket World Cups were organised along with the Host Country Name, Winner and Runner Up of the Cricket World Cup. Check out the table below for further details.

Cricket World Cup Winners List (ODI)

Year Host Winner Runner-Up
1975 England West Indies Australia
1979 England West Indies England
1983 England India West Indies
1987 India and Pakistan Australia England
1992 Australia and New Zealand Pakistan England
1996 Pakistan and India Sri Lanka Australia
1999 England Australia Pakistan
2003 South Africa Australia India
2007 West Indies Australia Sri Lanka
2011 India and Bangladesh India Sri Lanka
2015 Australia and New Zealand Australia New Zealand
2019 England and Wales England New Zealand

Cricket World Cup Winners List with Detail

In the following table, you will find the details of the Final Matches Played in the Cricket World Cup. You will find the Cricket World Cup Winners and Runners Up’s scores and the final result in detail.

Year Winner Score Runner-Up Score Result
1975 West Indies 291–8 Australia 274 West Indies won by 17 runs
1979 West Indies 286–9 England 194 West Indies won by 92 runs
1983 India 183 West Indies 140 India won by 43 runs
1987 Australia 253–5 England 246–8 Australia won by 7 runs
1992 Pakistan 249–6 England 227 Pakistan won by 22 runs
1996 Sri Lanka 245–3 Australia 241 Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets
1999 Australia 133–2 Pakistan 132 Australia won by 8 wickets
2003 Australia 359–2 India 234 Australia won by 125 runs
2007 Australia 281–4 Sri Lanka 215–8 Australia won by 53 runs
2011 India 277–4 Sri Lanka 274–6 India won by 6 wickets
2015 Australia 186–3 New Zealand 183 Australia won by 7 wickets
2019 England 241 New Zealand 241–8 The match tied after regular play and a super over; England won on a boundary count

Cricket World Cup Winners List & World

The following table depicts the information on Cricket World Cup Winners and how many times they have won the Cricket World Cup or were the runners-up of the Cricket World Cup in detail.

Team Final Appearances Winners Runners Years Won Years Runners
Australia 7 5 2 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015 1975, 1996
England 4 1 3 2019 1979, 1987, 1992
India 3 2 1 1983, 2011 2003
New Zealand 2 0 2 2015, 2019
Pakistan 2 1 1 1992 1999
Sri Lanka 3 1 2 1996 2007, 2011
West Indies 3 2 1 1975, 1979 1983


Static GK Questions
Indian Freedom Fighters Contribution Bihar Bed GK Questions
List of Chief Justice of India 1950-2022 REET GK Questions
How Many Planets in the Solar System? Important Days
UP Bed GK Questions Statue of Equality
REET GK Questions State and Capitals
Current Chief Minister of India First in India Male
Famous Temples in India President Election Process
Tallest Statues in the World
Miss Universe Winner from India


Who played 5 World Cups in cricket?

Ricky Ponting played 5 cricket World Cups from 1996-2011. Under his captaincy, Australia won two Cricket World Cups against South Africa and West Indies in 2003 and 2007 respectively.

Who won the First Cricket World Cup held in 1975?

West Indies won the first Cricket World Cup held in 1975 against Australia.

Which country has won most number of Cricket World Cup since 1975?

Australia won 5 Cricket World Cups since 1975 and it is the highest number of Cricket World Cup wins to date.