Home   »   GK Questions for Teaching Exams   »   List of Saraswati Awards Winners

List of Saraswati Awards Winners 1991 to 2023

Saraswati Samman or Sarasti Awards is one of the most prestigious literary awards presented by the K.K. Birla Foundations. As Awards and their winners is a very important and common topic witnessed in any Government Teaching Exams, teaching aspirants should read and learn about the Saraswati Samman in depth. Candidates preparing for these Teaching Job Exams such as DSSSB, NVS, KVS, APS and other exams must learn the names of the winners of each year along with the work that helped them win the Saraswati Award in their respective years. Check out the following article for more details on the Saraswati Awards.

What is the Saraswati Samman Award?

According to Category VIII of the Indian Constitution, the Saraswati Samman Award would be an annual literary award for outstanding prose or poetry in one of India’s 22 official languages. Its name is derived from an Indian enlightenment narrative. The Saraswati Samman was given in 1991 by the K. K. Birla Industry. It comes with a check for $15,000, a citation, and a memento.

Contestants are chosen from recent literary works by a jury of professors and former prize recipients. The four-volume autobiographical works Kya Bhooloon Kya Yaad Karoon, Need Ka Nirman Phir, Basere Se Door, as well as Das Dwar Se SopanTak by Harivanshrai ‘Bachchan’ won the first award.

Saraswati Samman Award – Overview

The Saraswati Samman is an annual literary award for outstanding writing and poetry. The Saraswati Award is significant because it is one of India’s most renowned literary awards and is honoring the goddess of wisdom.

Saraswati Award Overview
Category Literature
Establishment Year 1991
Prize Money 15 Lakhs
First Winner Harivansh Rai Bachchan
Last Winner Ramdarash Mishra

Saraswati Award – Important Highlights

The Saraswati Award plays an integral role in honouring one’s literary works and skills. Read below to know a few more important facts about this award:

  • A shawl, citation, insignia, and an honorarium of fifteen lakh rupees are given in Saraswati Samman.
  • Dr Harivansh Rai Bachchan, a writer in Hindi, received the inaugural Saraswati Samman for his four-volume autobiography.
  • For her autobiography Chitta-Chet, Dogri author Padma Sachdev received the prestigious Saraswati Samman Award in 2015.
  • Famous Konkani author Mahabaleshwar Sail was chosen to receive the Saraswati Samman in 2016. For his book “Houghton,” he received this honour.
  • The renowned Gujarati poet Sitanshu Yashaschandra was chosen for the 27th Saraswati Samman for the year 2017 on April 27, 2018. This honour will go to Sitanshu Yashaschandra for his poetry collection “Vakhar.” 2009 saw the release of this book.
  • The well-known Telugu poet Dr K. Siva Reddy received the 28th Saraswati Samman on 10 April 2019 in recognition of his poetry book “Pakki Ottigilite.” This appeared in print in 2016.
  • Vasdev Mohi, a well-known Sindhi author, received the 29th Saraswati Samman on 16 January 2020. He received this honour for his well-known “CheckBook” Sindhi short story.

A List of Saraswati Award Winners

The List of Saraswati Awards Winners from 1991 to 2023 has been enumerated below.

List of Saraswati Awards Winners from 1991 to 2023
Year  Recipient Work  Language
2022 Sivasankari “Surya Vamsam” (Memoir) Tamil
2021 Ram Darash Mishra “Main to Yahan Hun” (Poetry) Hindi
2020 Sharankumar Limbale “Sanatan” (Novel) Marathi
2019 Vasdev Mohi “Chequebook” (Short Story Series) Sindhi
2018 K Siva Reddy “Pakkaki Ottigilite” (Poetry) Telugu
2017 Sitanshu Yashaschandra “Vakhar” (Poetry collection) Gujarati
2016 Mahabaleshwar Sail “Hawthan” (Novel) Konkani
2015 Padma Sachdev “Chitt-Chete” (Autobiography) Dogri
2014 Veerappa Moily “Ramayana Mahanveshanam” (Poetry) Kannada
2013 Govind Mishra “Dhool Paudho Par” (Novel) Hindi
2012 Sugathakumari “Manalezhuthu” (Poetry collection) Malayalam
2011 A. A. Manavalan “Irama Kathaiyum Iramayakalum” Tamil
2010 S. L. Bhyrappa “Mandra” Kannada
2009 Surjit Paatar “Lafzan Di Dargah” Punjabi
2008 Lakshmi Nandan Bora “Kayakalpa” (Novel) Assamese
2007 Naiyer Masud “Taoos Chaman Ki Myna” (Short stories collection) Urdu
2006 Jagannath Prasad Das “Parikrama” (Poetry collection) Oriya
2005 K. Ayyappa Panicker “Ayyappa Panikarude Kritikal”
(Poetry collection)
2004 Sunil Gangopadhyay “Pratham Alo” (Novel) Bengali
2003 Govind Chandra Pande “Bhagirathi” (Poetry collection) Sanskrit
2002 Mahesh Elkunchwar “Yugant” (Play) Marathi
2001 Dalip Kaur Tiwana “Katha Kaho Urvashi” (Novel) Punjabi
2000 Manoj Das “Amruta Phala” (Novel) Oriya
1999 Indira Parthasarathy “Ramanujar” (Play) Tamil
1998 Shankha Ghosh “Gandharba Kabita Guccha” (Poetry collection) Bengali
1997 Manubhai Pancholi “Kurukshetra” Gujarati
1996 Shamsur Rahman Faruqi “She`r-e Shor-Angez” Urdu
1995 Balamani Amma “Nivedyam” (Poetry collection) Malayalam
1994 Harbhajan Singh “Rukh Te Rishi” (Poetry collection) Punjabi
1993 Vijay Tendulkar “Kanyadaan” (Play) Marathi
1992 Ramakant Rath “Sri Radha” (Poetry) Odia
1991 Harivansh Rai Bachchan Autobiography in four volumes (Autobiography) Hindi


One of India’s most prestigious literary awards is the Saraswati Samman, which was founded in 1991. It must be awarded annually to a great literary work written by an Indian author in 22 Indian languages and released in the previous ten years. A plaque, a certificate, and an award of Rs. 15 lakh are included. The winner is chosen by a committee that is chaired by Prof. Subhash C. Kashyap, a personal associate of the Lok Sabha Administration.

Sharing is caring!


Who offers the Saraswati Awards?

The Birla Foundation offers the Saraswati Samman K. K. Literature Award.

Who won the first Saraswati Award?

Harivansh Rai Bachchan, a writer in Hindi, received the inaugural Saraswati Samman for his four-volume autobiography.

Who won the Saraswati award in 2022?

Sivasankari won the Saraswati Awards 2022 for "Surya Vamsam" (Memoir) in Tamil Language.

Who won the Saraswati Award in 2008 and for what language?

Lakshmi Nandan Bora won in 2008 for Assamese language.

About the Author

I'm a content writer at Adda247, specializing in blog writing for National and State Level Competitive Government Exams for the Teaching Vertical. I research and curate genuine information to create engaging and authenticate articles. My goal is to provide valuable resources for aspiring candidates while promoting Adda247's mission.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *