Online Tution   »   Important Question   »   What is EWS Category?

What is EWS Category in India?

What is EWS Category?– The Union Government of India introduced the Constitution (One Hundred and Twenty-fourth Amendment) Bill, 2019, which added a 10% quota for EWS students to the previously unreserved or general category pupils.

The Economically Weaker Section (EWS) in India is a subgroup of people who fall into the Economy Based Un-Reserved Category and have an annual family income of less than Rs. 8 lakh but do not fit into any of the other categories in India, such as SC/ST/OBC or MBC in Tamil Nadu. Candidates who do not fit within the SC/ST/OBC categories but meet the EWS economic criteria will be considered for the EWS category.
Read About: PM Kisan Samman Nidhi


What is EWS category in Hindi?

भारत की केंद्र सरकार ने संविधान (एक सौ चौबीसवां संशोधन) विधेयक, 2019 पेश किया, जिसने पूर्व में अनारक्षित या सामान्य श्रेणी के विद्यार्थियों के लिए ईडब्ल्यूएस छात्रों के लिए 10% कोटा जोड़ा।

भारत में आर्थिक रूप से कमजोर वर्ग (ईडब्ल्यूएस) उन लोगों का एक उपसमूह है जो अर्थव्यवस्था आधारित अनारक्षित श्रेणी में आते हैं और जिनकी वार्षिक पारिवारिक आय रुपये से कम है। 8 लाख लेकिन भारत में किसी भी अन्य श्रेणी में फिट नहीं होते हैं, जैसे कि तमिलनाडु में एससी/एसटी/ओबीसी या एमबीसी। उम्मीदवार जो एससी / एसटी / ओबीसी श्रेणियों में फिट नहीं होते हैं, लेकिन ईडब्ल्यूएस आर्थिक मानदंडों को पूरा करते हैं, उन्हें ईडब्ल्यूएस श्रेणी के लिए विचार किया जाएगा।

Read About: PM-UDAY


What is the Criteria for EWS Category in India?

The following is the criteria needed for eligibility for EWS category:

  • Reservations for SCs, STs, and OBCs should not apply to these individuals.
  • The total yearly gross income of the family, including salary, agriculture, business, profession, and other sources, should be less than Rs 8 lac. Income for the financial year preceding the year of application is also included.
  • Regardless of family income, anybody whose family owns or possesses any of the following assets are not eligible to be classified as EWS:
  • 5 acres or more of agricultural land
  • Residential properties with a square footage of 1000 square feet or more.
  • In notified localities, a residential site of 100 square yards or more is required.
  • In locations other than the notified municipalities, a residential plot of 200 square yards or more is required.

Read About: PMJDY Scheme


EWS Category Meaning and Documents needed for Reservation

The documents needed are:

  • A certificate of verified income and assets issued by an authorised authority.
  • At the time of CAT application registration, a copy of the EWS certificate must be uploaded.
  • At the time of the interview, the EWS certificate must be produced, and a photocopy must be supplied.


EWS: How was this category created

On January 7, 2019, the Union Council of Ministers approved a 10% reservation in government positions and educational institutions for the Economically Weaker Section (EWS) in the General category. This would be in addition to the existing 50 per cent reservation for SC, ST, and OBC groups, according to the cabinet.

The Constitution (One Hundred and Twenty-fourth Amendment) Bill was introduced in the Lok Sabha on January 8, 2019, and passed the same day by the Rajya Sabha, India’s upper parliament. President Ram Nath Kovind signed the bill on January 12, 2019, and it was published in the Gazette, making it law.

The One Hundred and Third Amendment to the Indian Constitution, which went into effect on January 14, 2019, amended articles 15(6) and 16(6) of the Indian Constitution to provide for 10% reservations for the EWS group. The bill has been accepted by a number of state governments, who have stated that the 10% EWS reservations will be applied.

Youth For Equality, an anti-caste organisation, filed a suit with the Supreme Court of India in January 2019, saying that the proposed amendment violates the court’s 50% quota criteria.

The group indicated that it fully supports EWS reserves, but that they should be implemented by converting the current OBC quota of 27% into a non-caste-based, economic means-tested quota. Leaders of charity organisations for the backward classes, on the other hand, addressed the Supreme Court, claiming that EWS groups did not meet the stringent standards established by the same court in a previous case.

The Supreme Court, on the other hand, refused to lift the 10% reservation for the GEN-EWS group in government jobs and educational institutions. On August 6, 2020, the court agreed on a five-member bench to hear the case.



Is it possible for OBCs to apply for EWS?

EWS is a reserve for candidates who do not qualify for any other quota, such as OBC, SC, or ST (except PH and Ex-servicemen).

What is the EWS certificate’s validity?

The EWS certificate has a one-year validity period.

What is the procedure for obtaining an EWS certificate?

An EWS certificate application can be submitted either online or offline. It is up to the state legislature to make a decision. Visit the official website of the issuing body to submit an online application.

What is the meaning of an EWS certificate?

This certificate is part of the EWS benefits of reservation and can be obtained by presenting a Competent Authority’s Income and Asset Certificate.

Who can issue an EWS certificate and who has the power to do so?

An EWS certificate can be obtained from your local government (Tehsil).

Sharing is caring!

Thank You, Your details have been submitted we will get back to you.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.