Engineering Jobs   »   Latest Posts   »   BARC Full Form

BARC Full Form, Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, BARC History and List of BARC Directors

BARC Full Form

The Full Form of BARC is Bhabha Atomic Research Centre headquartered in Trombay, Maharashtra, Mumbai. Dr. Homi Jehangir Bhabha started India’s primary nuclear research facility for various activities related to nuclear power, including research, development, and training.

BARC operates under the Department of Atomic Energy (DAE), Government of India, and its main areas of research include nuclear energy, radiation technology, nuclear medicine, and various other scientific disciplines. Dr. Homi Jehangir Bhabha said,” When Nuclear Energy has been successfully applied for power production in, say a couple of decades from now, India will not have to look abroad for its experts but will find them ready at hand“.

History of BARC

Dr. Homi Jehangir Bhabha established nuclear power in India. The History of BARC is given below:

  • Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR) was established by Dr. Bhabha in 1945 established for carrying out nuclear science research.
  • For Amplifying nuclear energy for the nation’s benefit, Atomic Energy Establishment, Trombay (AEET) in January 1954 was established by Dr. Homi Jehangir Bhabha.
  • Later, after the death of Dr. Bhabha in 1966, AEET was renamed Bhabha Atomic Research Centre (BARC).

Who is the Director of BARC?

Dr. Ajit Kumar Mohanty was appointed the 13th Director of BARC on 12 March 2019. Dr. Mohanty joined the Nuclear Physics Division, BARC after graduating from the 26th Batch of BARC Training School and got several positions at the organization. He got awards and honors as given below:

  • Young Physicist Award from the Indian Physical Society in 1988
  • The Indian National Science Academy Young Scientist Award in 1991
  • The Homi Bhabha Science and Technology Award of the Department of Atomic Energy in 2001.
  • Honorary Doctrin of Literature (D.Litt.) Honoris Causa by the Utkal University.

List of BARC Directors

The List of BARC Directors from its starting period till the current time is given in the table below:

List of BARC Directors
S. No. Director Time Period
1. Dr. Homi Jehangir Bhabha 1 August 1954 – 24 January 1966
2. Dr. Homi Nusserwanji Sethna 15 February 1966 – 21 January 1972
3. Dr. Raja Ramanna 8 January 1981 – 9 March 1984, 1 June 1972 – 6 June 1978
4. Dr. Padmanabhan Krishnagopalan Iyengar 10 March 1984 – 31 January 1990
5. Dr. Rajagopala Chidambaram 5 April 1990 – 31 March 1993
6. Dr. A. N. Prasad 5 May 1993 – 31 March 1996
7. Dr. Anil Kakodkar 1 April 1996 – 1 April 2001
8. Shri Bisweswar Bhattacharjee 3 April 2001 – 30 April 2004
9. Dr. S. Banerjee 30 April 2004 – 19 May 2010
10. Dr. Ratan Kumar Sinha 19 May 2010 – 19 June 2012
11. Dr. Sekhar Basu 19 June 2012 – 23 February 2016
12. Shri Kamlesh Nilkanth Vyas 23 February 2016 – 12 March 2019
13. Dr. Ajit Kumar Mohanty 12 March 2019 – Till Now

Check: BARC Recruitment 2023

CIVIL Engineering MAHA PACK              Electrical Engineering MAHA PACK              MECHANICAL Engineering MAHA PACK

Now keep yourself updated with Latest Engineering Government Jobs 24×7 Download ADDA247 App Now! CLICK HERE

Latest Government Engineering Jobs 2023

Important Recruitments
DRDO Recruitment 2023 ISRO Recruitment 2023
BHEL Recruitment 2023 BEL Recruitment 2023
NTPC Recruitment 2023 PGCIL Recruitment 2023
IOCL Recruitment 2023 ONGC Recruitment 2023
SAIL Recruitment 2023 GAIL Recruitment 2023

Sharing is caring!


What is the BARC Full Form?

The Bhabha Atomic Research Centre is the Full Form of BARC.

Who is the Director of BARC right now?

Dr. Ajit Kumar Mohanty is the Director of BARC right now.

What is the department of BARC?

BARC operates under the Department of Atomic Energy (DAE).

Who established BARC?

Dr. Homi Jehangir Bhabha established nuclear power in India.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *