SSC CGL 2018-19 Exam Pattern

SSC CGL 2019 Exam will be conducted in 4 different levels. The levels are known as Tiers. The first three levels, Tier-I and Tier-II exams are conducted online. Tier-III is a pen and paper mode of examinationwhile the fourth level, i.e. the computer skill test can be taken anywhere as per the candidate’s availability.

Level of Examination Type Mode of Examination
Tier-I Objective Multiple Choice Online
Tier-II Objective Multiple Choice Online
Tier-III Descriptive Paper in English/Hindi Pen and Paper Mode
Tier-IV Computer Proficiency Test/Skill Test Whenever Applicable

Note: This year, marks scored in Tier-I and Tier-II exam, if conducted in multiple shifts will be normalized and such normalized score will be considered as final and will be used for qualifying the candidates to next stage of examination and to determine the final result.


SSC CGL 2018-19 Tier I Exam Pattern:

Serial No. Sections No. of Questions Total Marks Time Allotted
1 General Intelligence and Reasoning 25 50 A cumulative time of 60 minutes
2 General Awareness 25 50
3 Quantitative Aptitude 25 50
4 English Comprehension 25 50
Total 100 200

Click to recent updates on SSC CGL 2018-19

SSC CGL 2018-19 Tier II Exam Pattern:

Serial No. Sections No. of Questions Total Marks Time Allotted
1 Quantitative Ability 100 200 2 hours
2 English Language and Comprehension 200 200 2 hours
3 Statistics 100 200 2 hours
4 General Studies (Finance and Economics) 100 200 2 hours

SSC CGL Tier-III Exam Pattern:

A descriptive paper in English/Hindi of 100 marks has been introduced by Staff Selection of Commission of India for SSC CGL 2019 Exam. This paper needs to be completed in 60 minutes.

SSC CGL Tier-IV Exam Pattern:

Two major skill sets are tested through SSC CGL Tier-IV Exam.

DEST: Candidates are required to type 2000 words in 15 minutes on a computer in English. This test is conducted to check a candidate's writing skills.

CPT: This test is conducted to check a candidate's proficiency in Word Processing, Spreadsheets and Generation of Slides.

The time limit of Tier-I examination has been reduced to 60 minutes. The same time is increased to 80 minutes for person with disability/Physically handicapped Candidates.

The time limit of Tier-II examination is 2 hours. An additional 40 minutes is given to candidates with disability.

Candidates are required to qualify the cut-off of each level of examination in order to get promoted to the next level.

The key point to note here is that there is no sectional cut-off in any level of SSC CGL Examination.

Read more about SSC CGL 2019

Other Exams