Tamil govt jobs   »   Latest Post   »   TNPSC Indian National Movement (INM) Free...

TNPSC Indian National Movement (INM) Free Notes – Political Association before INC – 1

இந்தக் கட்டுரையில், TNPSC குரூப் 1, குரூப் 2, குரூப் 2A, குரூப் 4 மாநிலப் போட்டித் தேர்வுகளான TNUSRB, TRB, TET, TNEB போன்றவற்றுக்கான  முறைகள் இலவசக் குறிப்புகளைப் பெறுவீர்கள்.தேர்வுக்கு தயாராவோர் இங்குள்ள பாடக்குறிப்புகளை படித்து பயன்பெற வாழ்த்துகிறோம்.

Political Association before INC – 1


  • The Indian National Congress was not the first political organisation in India. 
  • The political associations in the early half of the nineteenth century were dominated by wealthy and aristocratic elements.
  • They were local or regional in character.
  • Through long petitions to the British Parliament most of them demanded
  • Administrative reforms,
  • Association of indians with the administration, and
  • Spread of education.
  • The political associations in the second half of the nineteenth century was  increasingly dominated by the educated middle class – the lawyers, journalists, doctors, teachers, etc.,

Political associations in Bengal

  • The Bangabhasha Prakasika Sabha
  • The Zamindari Association
  • The Bengal British India Society
  • The East India Association
  • The Indian League
  • The Indian Association of Calcutta

The Bangabhasha Prakasika Sabha – 1836 

  • Founded by associates of Raja Rammohan Roy in Calcutta.
  •  It was launched in 1836 under the leadership of Gourishankar Tarkabagish.
  • Raja Ram Mohan Roy was one of the first Politically active leader in the modern sense.
  • Major demands are appointments of Indians to Higher Govt Offices, Freedom of Press, Prevent Zamindari Oppression of Ryots, etc.

The Zamindari Association – 1837 

  • Popularly known as the ‘Landholders’ Society’, 
  • Founded by Dwaraknath Tagore 
  • Aim – To safeguard the interests of the landlords. 
  • The Landholders’ Society marked the beginning of an organised political activity and use of methods of constitutional agitation for the redressal of grievances.

The Bengal British India Society – 1843

Objective –  

The collection and dissemination of information relating to the actual condition of the people of British India through peaceful and lawful character and also to secure welfare and to extend the  rights and advance the interests of all class of peoples. 

British Indian Association – 1851

  • Founded by merging of Landlords society and Bengal British India Society.
    • President –  Radhakanta Dev
    • Secretary – Debendranath Tagore
  • Demands through petition
  • Establishment of a separate legislature.
  • Separate executive from judiciary. 
  • Reducing higher officers salaries.  
  • Abolition of salt duty.
  • Abkari and stamp duties
  • These were partially accepted in the Charter Act of 1853 provided for the addition of six members to the governor-general’s council for legislative purposes.

The East India Association – 1866

  • Founded  by Dadabhai Naoroji  in London
  • Aim – To discuss the Indian question and influence public men in England to promote Indian welfare. 

The Indian League – 1875

  • Founded by Sisir Kumar Ghosh
  • Aim – Stimulating the sense of nationalism amongst the people  and of encouraging political education.

The Indian Association of Calcutta – 1876

    • Also known as the Indian National Association
    • Led by  Surendranath Banerjee and Ananda Mohan Bose
    • Forerunner of the Indian National Congress as an all-India nationalist organisation
  • Aim- 
  • Create a strong public opinion on political questions,
  • Unify Indian people in a common political programme.

  • Demands-
  • 1877- Protested against the reduction of age limit for candidates of  Indian Civil Service examination
  •  Holding of civil service examination simultaneously  in England and India 
  • Indianisation of higher administrative posts. It led a
  • Led a campaign against the repressive arms act and the vernacular press act.
  • First All India conference in Calcutta on December 28 to 30, 1883. More than 100 delegates   participated in the conference.
  • Merged with the Indian National Congress in 1886.



Tamilnadu mega pack
Tamilnadu mega pack
இது போன்ற தேர்விற்கான தகவல் மற்றும் பாடக்குறிப்புகளை பெற ADDA247 தமிழ் செயலியை பதிவிறக்கம் செய்யுங்கள்
Adda247 TamilNadu Home page Click here
Official Website=Adda247 Click here