Home   »   About UPSC CSE   »   About UPSC CSE

About CSE


Civil Services is considered as the steel frame of India. It is the backbone of Indian administrative machinery and helps in maintaining the integrity and national unity of India.

Civil Services Examination is one of the most sought examinations in this country. This exam is among the handful in its cohort where aspirants believe that money can’t buy everything! The exam is often being tagged as ‘one of the toughest examinations in the country’, ‘mother of all examination in the country’ and what not. You may defer from such captivating references but what you will always admire is that it is not just a job, it is an emotion!

The examination is conducted by Union Public Services Commission (UPSC), which is a constitutional body. Though this institution conducts many other examinations, due to the vibrancy of civil services, the exam is often considered synonymous with UPSC.

Civil Services is at the helm of policymaking in India. The executive functions are vested in this powerful institution. Lakhs of aspirants aspire (hence the word aspirants!) to become  civil servants and bring the change they have always dreamt of making. So, it goes without saying that to be a part of this esteemed fraternity, you need to buckle up your belt and up the ante, to the level, you have witnessed never before. Just like you don’t buy Bournville, you earn it; you don’t pass this examination, you earn it ?

About CSE_30.1


The examination is conducted for 3 All-India Services—IAS, IPS and IFoS—16 Group ‘A’ Civil Services and 5 Group ‘B’ Civil Services.

  • All India Services
    • Administrative Service (IAS)
    • Indian Police Service (IPS)
    • Indian Forest Service (IFoS)
  • Group ‘A’ Civil Services
    • Indian Foreign Service (IFS)
    • Indian Audit and Accounts Service (IAAS)
    • Indian Civil Accounts Service (ICAS)
    • Indian Corporate Law Service (ICLS)
    • Indian Defence Accounts Service (IDAS)
    • Indian Defence Estates Service (IDES)
    • Indian Information Service (IIS)
    • Indian Ordnance Factories Service (IOFS)
    • Indian Communication Finance Services (ICFS)
    • Indian Postal Service (IPoS)
    • Indian Railway Accounts Service (IRAS)
    • Indian Railway Personnel Service (IRPS)
    • Indian Railway Traffic Service (IRTS)
    • Indian Revenue Service (IRS)
    • Indian Trade Service (ITS)
    • Railway Protection Force (RPF)
  • Group ‘B’ Civil Services
    • Armed Forces Headquarters Civil Service
    • DANICS
    • DANIPS
    • Pondicherry Civil Service
    • Pondicherry Police Service

About CSE_40.1


For the Indian Administrative Service, the Indian Foreign Service and the Indian Police Service, an aspirant must be a citizen of India.

Age Limits: An aspirant must have attained the age of 21 years and must not have attained the age of 32 years on the 1st of August, 2021 i.e., the candidate must have been born not earlier than 2nd August, 1989 and not later than 1st August, 2000.

The upper age limit prescribed above will be relaxable for the aspirants from reserved communities.

A candidate must hold a degree of any of the Universities incorporated by an Act of the central or State Legislature in India or possess an equivalent qualification.

Every candidate appearing at the examination who is otherwise eligible shall be permitted six (6) attempts at the CSE. Relaxation in the number of attempts is provided to aspirants from reserved communities.

A candidate who is appointed to the Indian Administrative Service or the Indian Foreign Service based on the results of an earlier examination and continues to be a member of that Service will not be eligible to appear in the next Civil Services Examination.


Application procedure

Every year, around April, UPSC releases new notifications to fill various posts under the civil services. Once the notification comes, you need to fill the registration form online through the UPSC portal, www.upsconline.nic.in.

About CSE_50.1

Examination schedule

To get into this prestigious organisation, you need to go through a rigorous but achievable process. The examination is conducted in three phases—prelims, mains and interviews.

The duration between the arrival of notification and the date of the preliminary examination is roughly around 60 days. Aspirants, generally, give their best shot during this period.

After the prelims, UPSC takes around 40 days to declare the result and the successful aspirants get around 60 days to be prepared for the mains examination. The result of the mains examination arrives in nearly 75 days and the successful ones gear up for the final phase, the interview.

As you can see, the whole process takes almost a year to end and demands your perseverance in the entire journey.

So, remove your second thoughts and dive into the mesmerizing journey of UPSC civil service examinations. And remember, you are not alone. We, at Adda 247, are with you to guide you at every step so that you end this journey on a beautiful note!

All The Best!

Sharing is caring!