

The Vice - President

- Vice President is indirectly elected by means of single transferable vote.
- State Legislatures do not take part in the election of Vice President.
- The electoral college for Vice President consists of the members of both Houses of Parliament (Art. 66(1)).

To be elected as Vice - President of India a person must be:

- A citizen of India.
- Over 35 years of Age.
- Must not hold an office of profit save that of President, Vice President, Governor or Minister for the Union or a state (Ref.: Art. 66).
- > If a member of the Legislature is elected Vice President, he shall be deemed to have vacated his seat in the House to which he belongs.
- Vice President's Term of the office of is five years from the date on which he enters upon his office. Office of Vice - President may terminate earlier than the fixed term either by resignation or by removal.
- Vice President can be removed by a resolution of the Rajya Sabha passed by a majority of its members and agreed to by the Lok Sabha (Ref.: Art 67).
- A sitting Vice President is eligible for re election. Dr. S. Radhakrishnan was elected as the Vice -President of India for a second term in 1957.
- The Vice President is the ex officio Chairman of the Rajya Sabha. If any vacancy occurs in the office of the President, Vice - President acts as President until a new President is elected and enters upon his office (Ref.: Art. 65(1)).
- During the 15 day visit of Dr. Rajendra Prasad to the Soviet Union in June 1960, the then Vice -President, Dr. S. Radhakrishnan acted as the President owing to the 'inability of the President to discharge his duties.
- If the offices of both the President and the Vice President fall vacant by reason of death, resignation,

removal etc. the Chief Justice of India or in his absence the senior most Judge of the Supreme Court acts as President.

- In 1969 when the President Dr. Zakir Hussian died and the Vice -President Shri V. V. Giri resigned, the Chief Justice Md. Hidayatullah acted as President.
- When the Vice President acts as President, he gets the emoluments of the President; otherwise, he gets the salary of the Chairman of the Rajya Sabha. When the Vice - President acts as President, the Deputy Chairman of the Rajya Sabha acts as its Chairman (Art. 91).
- Determination of doubts and disputes relating to the election of a President or Vice - President is described in Art. 71.



Main provisions are as follows:

- Such disputes are decided by the Supreme Court whose jurisdiction is exclusive and final.
- No such dispute can be raised on the ground of any vacancy in the electoral college.
- If the election of the President or the Vice President is declared void by the Supreme Court, acts done by him prior to the date of such decision of the Supreme Court is not invalidated.
- Matters other than the decision of such disputes are regulated by law made by Parliament.

Vice-Presidents of India:

Sl.	Name	Tenure
1.	Dr. S. Radhakrishnan	1952 - 1962
2.	Dr. Zakir Hussain	1962 - 1967
3.	V. V. Giri	1967 - 1969
4.	Gopal Swaroop Pathak	1969 - 1974
5.	B.D. Jatti	1974 - 1979
6.	Justice Md. Hidayatullah	1979 - 1984
7.	R. Venkataraman	1984 - 1987
8.	Dr. Shankar Dayal Sharma	1987 - 1992
9.	K.R. Narayanan	1992 - 1997
10.	Krishnakant	1997 - 2002
11.	Bhairon Singh Shekhawat	2002 - 10. 08. 2007
12.	Md. Hamid Ansari	11. 08. 2007 - 11. 08. 2017
13.	M.Venkaiya Naidu	11.08.2017







5 Full Length Mocks



Validity: 12 Months