Latest Teaching jobs   »   Vice President Of India – Social...

Vice President Of India – Social Studies Notes For CTET 2020 : Free PDF

Vice President Of India – Social Studies Notes For CTET 2020 : Free PDF_30.1

Social Studies is an important section for CTET, MPTET, State TET, and other teaching exams as well. Social studies is the main subject in the CTET exam Paper II. In CTET Exam, the Social Studies section comprises a total 60 questions of 60 marks, in which 40 questions come from the content section i.e.History, Geography and Political Science and the rest 20 questions from Social Studies Pedagogy section.

Strategy to Prepare For Social Studies in CTET 2020

At least 10-15 questions are asked from the Political Science section in the CTET Social studies section. Here we are providing important study notes related to the Vice President Of India.

 Vice President of India

  • Vice – President is indirectly elected by means of single transferable vote.
  • State Legislatures do not take part in the election of Vice – President.
  • The electoral college for Vice – President consists of the members of both Houses of Parliament (Art. 66(1)).

To be elected as Vice – President of India a person must be:

  • A citizen of India.
  • Over 35 years of Age.
  • Must not hold an office of profit save that of President, Vice – President, Governor or Minister for the Union or a state (Ref.: Art. 66).
  • If a member of the Legislature is elected Vice – President, he shall be deemed to have vacated his seat in the House to which he belongs.
  • Vice – President’s Term of the office of is five years from the date on which he enters upon his office. Office of Vice – President may terminate earlier than the fixed term either by resignation or by removal.
  • Vice – President can be removed by a resolution of the Rajya Sabha passed by a majority of its members and agreed to by the Lok Sabha (Ref.: Art 67).
  • A sitting Vice – President is eligible for re – election. S. Radhakrishnan was elected as the Vice – President of India for a second term in 1957.
  • The Vice – President is the ex – officio Chairman of the Rajya Sabha. If any vacancy occurs in the office of the President, Vice – President acts as President until a new President is elected and enters upon his office (Ref.: Art. 65(1)).
  • During the 15 – day visit of Dr. Rajendra Prasad to the Soviet Union in June 1960, the then Vice – President, S. Radhakrishnan acted as the President owing to the ‘inability of the President to discharge his duties.
  • If the offices of both the President and the Vice – President fall vacant by reason of death, resignation, removal etc. the Chief Justice of India or in his absence the senior most Judge of the Supreme Court acts as President.
  • In 1969 when the President Dr. Zakir Hussian died and the Vice – President Shri V. V. Giri resigned, the Chief Justice Hidayatullah acted as President.
  • When the Vice – President acts as President, he gets the emoluments of the President; otherwise, he gets the salary of the Chairman of the Rajya Sabha. When the Vice – President acts as President, the Deputy Chairman of the Rajya Sabha acts as its Chairman (Art. 91).
  • Determination of doubts and disputes relating to the election of a President or Vice – President is described in Art. 71.

Main provisions are as follows:

  • Such disputes are decided by the Supreme Court whose jurisdiction is exclusive and final.
  • No such dispute can be raised on the ground of any vacancy in the electoral college.
  • If the election of the President or the Vice – President is declared void by the Supreme Court, acts done by him prior to the date of such decision of the Supreme Court is not invalidated.
  • Matters other than the decision of such disputes are regulated by law made by Parliament.

Vice-Presidents of India:





Dr. S. Radhakrishnan

1952 – 1962


Dr. Zakir Hussain

1962 – 1967


V. V. Giri

1967 – 1969


Gopal Swaroop Pathak

1969 – 1974


B.D. Jatti

1974 – 1979


Justice Md. Hidayatullah

1979 – 1984


R. Venkataraman

1984 – 1987


Dr. Shankar Dayal Sharma

1987 – 1992


K.R. Narayanan

1992 – 1997



1997 – 2002


Bhairon Singh Shekhawat

2002 – 10. 08. 2007


Md. Hamid Ansari

11. 08. 2007 – 11. 08. 2017


M.Venkaiya Naidu

11.08.2017 – cont.

Download Social Studies PDF Notes in English

Download Social Studies PDF Notes in Hindi

You may also like to read :

Vice President Of India – Social Studies Notes For CTET 2020 : Free PDF_40.1

Thank You, Your details have been submitted we will get back to you.