Latest Teaching jobs   »   The Parliament Of India Part 2...

The Parliament Of India Part 2 – Social Studies Notes For CTET 2020 : Free PDF

The Parliament Of India Part 2 – Social Studies Notes For CTET 2020 : Free PDF_30.1

Social Studies is an important section for CTET, MPTET, State TET, and other teaching exams as well. Social studies is the main subject in the CTET exam Paper II. In CTET Exam, the Social Studies section comprises a total 60 questions of 60 marks, in which 40 questions come from the content section i.e.History, Geography and Political Science and the rest 20 questions from Social Studies Pedagogy section.

Strategy to Prepare For Social Studies in CTET 2020

At least 10-15 questions are asked from the Political Science section in the CTET Social studies section. Here we are providing important notes related to the Parliament of India.

The Parliament of India (Part 1)

The Parliament of India (Part 2)

Speaker and Deputy Speaker of The Lok Sabha

  • The Speaker presides over the Lok Sabha.
  • The Speaker and the Deputy Speaker are chosen by the Lok Sabha from among its members.
  • Salary and allowances of the Speaker are charged on the Consolidated Fund of India.
  • The conduct of the speaker cannot be discussed except on a substantive motion.

The Speaker or the Deputy Speaker, normally holds office during the life of the House, but his office may terminate earlier in any of the following ways:

  • By his ceasing to be a member of the House.
  • By resignation in writing, addressed to the Deputy Speaker, and vice-versa.
  • By removal from office by a resolution, passed by a majority of all the then members of the House (Art. 94).
  • A resolution to remove the Speaker cannot be moved unless at least 14 day notice has been given of the intention to move the resolution.

Complete Social Studies Notes For All Teaching Exams!

1st Speaker/Deputy Speaker of Lok Sabha

1st  Speaker:

Ganesh Vasudev (G.V.) Mavalankar

1st  Speaker (Tribal)

P.A. Sangama

1st  Speaker (Female)

Meira Kumar

1st  Dy. Speaker

M. Ananthasayanam Ayyangare

  • While a resolution for his removal is under consideration, the Speaker cannot preside, but he can speak in, take part in the proceedings of the House and vote except in the case of equality of votes (Art. 96).
  • At other meetings of the House the Speaker cannot vote in the first instance, but can exercise a casting vote in case of equality of votes.
  • The Speaker has the final power to maintain order within the Lok Sabha and to interpret its Rules of Procedures.
  • In the absence of a quorum the Speaker adjourns the House or suspends the meeting until there is a quorum.
  • The Speaker’s conduct in regulating the procedure or maintaining order in the House cannot be questioned in a Court (Art. 122).
  • The Speaker presides over a joint sitting of the two Houses of Parliament (Art. 118(4)).
  • When a Money Bill is transmitted from the Lok Sabha to the Rajya Sabha the Speaker may certify that it is a Money Bill (Art. 110(4)).
  • The decision of the Speaker on whether a Bill is Money Bill is final.
  • While the office of Speaker is vacant or the Speaker is absent from a sitting of the House, the Deputy Speaker presides, except when a resolution for his own removal is under consideration.

Chairman and Deputy Chairman of the Rajya Sabha

  • Vice-President of India is ex-officio Chairman of the Rajya Sabha and functions as the Presiding Officer of that House so long as he does not officiate as the President.
  • When the Chairman acts as the President of India, the duties of the Chairman are performed by the Deputy Chairman.
  • The Chairman may be removed from his office only if he is removed from the office of the Vice-President.
  • The powers of Chairman in the Rajya Sabha are similar to those of the Speaker in the Lok Sabha except that the Speaker has certain special powers like certifying a Money Bill or presiding over a joint sitting of the two Houses.

1st Chairman/Deputy Chairman of RS

1st Chairman: Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan

1st Deputy Chairman: S.V. Krishnamoorthy Rao

1st  Deputy Chairperson (Female): Smt. Violet Alva

Privileges of Parliament

The privileges of each House can be divided into two groups:

  1. Those which are enjoyed by the members individually.
  2. Those which belong to each House of Parliament, as a collective body.

The privileges enjoyed by the members individually are: Freedom from Arrest exempts a member from arrest during the continuance of a meeting of the House or Committee thereof of which he is a member and or sitting.

  • This immunity is confined to arrest in civil cases and not in criminal cases or under the law of Preventive Detention.
  • A member cannot be summoned, without the leave of the House to give evidence as a witness while Parliament is in session.

There is Freedom of Speech within the walls of each House.

  • The limitation on freedom of speech is that no discussion can take place in Parliament with respect to the conduct of any judge of the Supreme Court or of a High Court in the discharge of his duties except upon a motion for removal of the judge (Art. 121).

The privileges of the House collectively are:

  • The right to publish debates and proceedings and to restrain publication by others.
  • The right to exclude others.
  • The right to regulate internal affairs of the House. The right to publish Parliamentary misbehaviour.
  • The right to punish members and outsiders for breach of its privileges.

Social Studies Quiz For CTET Exam : Attempt Daily Quizzes

The Legislative Procedures in Parliament: The different stages in the legislative procedure in Parliament relating to Bills other than Money Bills are as follows:

  • Introduction of a Bill in either House of Parliament
  • Motions after introduction
  • Report by Select Committee
  • Passing of the Bill in the House where it was introduced
  • Passage in the other House
  • President’s Assent

Money Bills and Financial Bills: A Bill is called Money Bill if it contains only provisions dealing with all or any of the following matters:

  • The imposition, abolition, remission, alteration or regulation of any tax.
  • The regulation of the borrowing of money by the Government
  • The custody of or the withdrawal of moneys from the Consolidated Fund of India.
  • A Money Bill cannot be introduced in the Rajya Sabha.
  • After a Money Bill has been passed by the Lok Sabha, it is transmitted to the Rajya Sabha.
  • The Rajya Sabha can neither reject a Money Bill od amend it.
  • It is upto the Lok Sabha to accept or reject the recommendations of the Rajya Sabha.
  • If a Money Bill is not returned by Rajya Sabha within the 14 days, it shall deemed to have been passed by the both houses.

Download Social Studies PDF Notes in English

Download Social Studies PDF Notes in Hindi

You may also like to read :

The Parliament Of India Part 2 – Social Studies Notes For CTET 2020 : Free PDF_40.1

Thank You, Your details have been submitted we will get back to you.