Latest Teaching jobs   »   General Awareness Quiz For KVS 2016...

General Awareness Quiz For KVS 2016 Exams

General Awareness Quiz For KVS 2016 Exams_30.1

Q1. Marlin award is given to
(a) Doctor
(b) magician
(c) Author
(d) None of these
 Q2. The Nobel prize for Economics was instituted in
(a) 1965
(b) 1966
(c) 1967
(d) 1968
Q3 The award is given in the field of agriculture
(a) Bhatnagar Award
(b) Bourlog Award
(c) Dhanwantari Award
(d) Kaling Award
Q4. The highest military decoration  award is
(a) Ashok Chakra
(b) Param Vir Chakra
(c) Kirti Chakra
(d) Vir Chakra
Q5. The award is conferred to journalists aims to providing financial assistance :
(a) Appan Menon Memorial Award
(b) Jnanpith Award
(c) Bhatnagar Award
(d) Kalinga Award
Q6. Jnanpith Award is given for which field?
(a) Journalism
(b) Music
(c) Science
(d) Literature
Q7. Kabir Puraskar is related to which field?
(a) Sculpture
(b) Cultural development
(c) Promotion of communal harmony
(d) Hindi literature
Q8. Highest award given to civilian in India is
(a) Bharat Ratna
(b) Padma Vibhushan
(c) Sharam Award
(d) Padma Bhushan
Q9. Sports coaches receive which of the following awards?
(a) Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award
(b) Dronacharya Award
(c) Arjuna Award
(d) None of these
Q10. In which year National Film Awards were initiated?
(a) 1952
(b) 1953
(c) 1954
(d) 1955
S1. Ans.(b)
Sol.  Merlin award is given to the Magicians who contribute significantly in the stage magic shows and creation of magic in the world. This award was created by Tony Hassini and his International Magicians Society.

S2. Ans.(d)
Sol. The Nobel prize for Economics  was established in 1968 by a donation from Sweden’s central bank, the Sveriges Riksbank, on the bank’s 300th anniversary. Although it is not one of the prizes that Alfred Nobel established in his will in 1895, it is referred to along with the other Nobel Prizes by the Nobel Foundation

S3. Ans.(b)
Sol. In order to recognize a scientist, who provides a breakthrough for agriculture through a new insight that has created high potential value for the future, the Norman Borlaug Award has been constituted. The nominations for the awards are for a scientist(s) of any discipline of agricultural and allied sciences. The award would be of 10 lakh in cash.

S4. Ans.(b)
Sol. The Param Vir Chakra  is India’s highest military decoration awarded for the highest degree of valour or self-sacrifice in the presence of the enemy. The medal has been awarded 21 times, 14 of which were posthumous awards, and 16 were awarded for their action in Indo-Pakistani conflicts alone

S5. Ans.(a)
Sol. The Appan Menon Memorial Award consisting of a grant of  1 lakh is given each year to a professional journalist working in the area of world affairs or development news with an Indian perspective.
S6. Ans.(d)
Sol. The Jnanpith Award is an Indian literary award presented annually by the Bharatiya Jnanpith to an author for their “outstanding contribution towards literature
S7. Ans.(c)
Sol. This Award is instituted to promote communal, caste  and ethnic harmony by recognizing acts  of Physical/moral courage and humanity exhibited by member(s) of one a community, caste or ethnic group in saving  the lives  and  properties  of  the  member(s)  of  another community,  
S8. Ans.(a)
Sol. Bharat Ratna is India’s highest civilian award.
S9. Ans.(b)
Sol. Dronacharya award is an award presented by the government of India for excellence in sports coaching. The award comprises bronze statue of Dronacharya, a scroll of honour and a cash component of ` 500,000. The award was instituted in 1985. The last recipient of the award is Raj Singh for wrestling in the year 2014
S10. Ans.(c)
Sol. The National Film Awards is the most prominent film award ceremonies in India. Established in 1954, it has been administered, along with the International Film Festival of India and the Indian Panorama