Latest Teaching jobs   »   CTET Social Science – Important Questions...

CTET Social Science – Important Questions You Must Practice 11th June(Solutions)

CTET Social Science - Important Questions You Must Practice 11th June(Solutions)_30.1
Dear Readers, Everything that studies our society and the way we interact with each other in it, is a social science.This section NOT ONLY comes CTET Exam 2018 but also come in other TET Exam also i.e UPTET Exam 2018, UPTET Exam 2018 & DSSSB Exam 2018 etc. So, we will provide you the questions which will help you in preparing for Exam.
Use This Code TEACH5

Q1. How many language were originally recognised as National Languages in the constitution of India, which came into force in 1950 ? 
(a) 27
(b) 14
(c) 22
(d) 20

Q2. What was the decisive event which led to accession of the State of Junagarh to India instead of to Pakistan ? 

(a) Sardar Vallabh Bhai Patel convincing the ruler of Junagarh 
(b) Revolt in the State of Junagarh 
(c) The Pakistani Government refused to consider the ruler’s request 
(d) A plebiscite was held in Junagarh which went in India’s favour 

Q3. The illegally occupied parts of Kashmir by Pakistan are officially called in India by the name 

(a) Free Kashmir 
(b) Pakistan Occupied Kashmir 
(c) Azad Kashmir 
(d) Occupied Kashmir 

Q4. The border between India and Tibet (now part of China) in the North-East was defined during British times and called as 

(a) Actual Ground Position Line
(b) Line of Actual Control
(c) McMahan Line
(d) India-Tibet Line

Q5. Which one of the following political parties is only a regional party, not a national one ? 

(a) Asom Gana Parishad
(b) Bahujan -Samaj Party
(c) Samajwadi Party
(d) Rashtriya Lok Dal

Q6. In the General Elections, candidates are always identified by picture symbols along with their names. Why is this done ? 

(a) Names are difficult to remember 
(b) It is easier for the political parties to campaign 
(c) Many of the voters are illiterate and would not be able to read the candidates’ names 
(d) All of the above

Q7. The President of India is head of 

(a) the Executive 
(b) the State
(c) the Judiciary 
(d) All of these 

Q8. Which of the following was not a recommendation of the States Reorganisation Commission (SRC) set up in 1953 ?

(a) Due consideration should be given to administrative and economic factors while redrawing the boundaries of states 
(b) The Malabar areas of the old Madras Presidency were to be merged with Travancore-Cochin to form a State called Kerala
(c) Certain Kannada speaking areas from the States of Bombay, Madras, Hyderabad and Coorg were to be added to the State of Mysore 
(d) The State of Bombay was to be bifurcated into Marathi and Gujarati speaking states 

Q9. What was the slogan coined by India Prime Minister Lal Bahadur Shastri at the time of the 1965 India-Pakistan War ? 

(a) Jhanda Ooncha Rahe Hamara 
(b) Jai Jawan Jai Kisan
(c) Garibi Hatao
(d) Jai Hind

Q10. Who was the proponent of the Sarvodaya and the Bhoodan Movements in Independent India ? 

(a) Acharya Vinoba Shave 
(b) Jay Prakash Narayan 
(c) Sardar Vallabh Bhai Patel
(d) Indira Gandhi 


S1. Ans.(b)At present (2018), the Eighth Schedule of the Constitution specifies 22 languages (originally 14 languages).
S2. Ans.(d)After India assumed administration in Junagadh, India’s Ministry of Law stated that the accession of Junagadh to Pakistan had not been invalidated by plebiscite and that Junagadh had not yet acceded to India. But India went ahead with the referendum because it believed the result would be in its favour.
S3. Ans.(b)Pak-occupied Kashmir (POK) is that part of Jammu Kashmir state of India which Pakistan had invaded in 1947. For administrative simplicity Pakistan has divided it into two parts, which are called Azad Jammu-O-Kashmir and Gilgit-Baltistan in official language. If Gilgit-Baltistan is removed, the area of Azad Kashmir is spread over 13,300 square kilometers (about 3 times of Indian Kashmir) and its population is about 40 lacs.
S4. Ans.(c)The McMahon Line is a demarcation line drawn on map referred to in the Simla Convention, a treaty between Britain and Tibet signed in 1914. Although its legal status is disputed, it is currently the effective boundary between China and India.
S5. Ans.(a)Asom Gana Parishad is a state political party in Assam, India. The AGP was formed after the historic Assam Accord of 1985 and formally launched at the Golaghat Convention held from 13–14 October, 1985 in Golaghat, that let Prafulla Kumar Mahanta to be elected as the youngest chief minister of the state.
S6. Ans.(c)
S7. Ans.(b)
S8. Ans.(d)
S9. Ans.(b)Jai Jawan Jai Kisan was a slogan given to India by the Prime Minister of India Lal Bahadur Shastri in 1965 at a public gathering at Ramlila Maidan, Delhi.
S10. Ans.(a) Vinoba Bhave was directly influenced by the Sarvodaya movement of Gandhi of whose he was the spiritual heir. The movement was started on 18 April 1951 at Pochampally village in Nalgonda district when Telangana peasant movement on the land issue reached the peak.The Bhoodan Movement or Land Gift Movement, was a voluntary land reform movement in India, started by Acharya Vinoba Bhave in 1951 at Pochampally village which is now in Telangana, India and known as Bhoodan Pochampally.

You may also like to read :

CTET Social Science - Important Questions You Must Practice 11th June(Solutions)_40.1CTET Social Science - Important Questions You Must Practice 11th June(Solutions)_50.1CTET Social Science - Important Questions You Must Practice 11th June(Solutions)_60.1