Retired IAS Arun Goel appointed as Election Commissioner of India

Check details

President Droupadi Murmu has appointed retired IAS Arun Goel as the Election Commissioner in the Election Commission with effect from the date he assumes the office

A Punjab cadre officer of the 1985 batch, Goel will join Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar and Election Commissioner Anup Chandra Pandey in the poll panel.

Till recently, Mr Goel was the heavy industries secretary and has also served in the Union Culture ministry

According to the law dealing with appointment, service conditions and retirement of election commissioners, a person can hold the office of an EC or CEC for six years or till the age of 65, whichever is earlier

Chief Election Commissioner of India: Rajiv Kumar; Other Election Commissioner: Anup Chandra Pandey Election Commission Formed: 25 January 1950