Latest govt jobs   »   National Sports Award 2020: Know about...

National Sports Award 2020: Know about the List of Awardees

The National Sports Award ceremony takes place every year. The awardees receive their awards from the Hon’ble President of India. But this year it will be held virtually due to the COVID-19 pandemic and the awardees will receive their awards from the Hon’ble President of India through virtual mode at a specially organised function from Rashtrapati Bhawan on 29 August, 2020.

This year large numbers of applicants were received for Sports Awards and were considered by the Selection Committee headed by the former Judge of Supreme Court of India, Justice Mukundakam Sharma and other members comprising of eminent sportspersons, persons having experience in sports journalism and sports administration, etc.

The Government of India has decided to confer awards, is based on the Committee recommendations and after due scrutiny, upon the following sportspersons, coaches and entities in several categories as given below:


  • It is awarded by a sportsperson for the spectacular and most outstanding performance in the field of sports over a period of four years.
S. No. Name of Sportsperson Discipline
1 Shri Rohit Sharma Cricket
2 Shri Mariyappan T. Para Athletics
3 Ms. Manika Batra Table Tennis
4 Ms. Vinesh Wrestling
5 Ms. Rani Hockey


  • It is awarded to the coaches for producing medal winners at prestigious international sports events. This award is awarded in two categories:

A. For Life-Time Category

S. No. Name of the Coach Discipline
1 Shri Dharmendra Tiwary Archery
2 Shri Purushotham Rai Athletics
3 Shri Shiv Singh Boxing
4 Shri Romesh Pathania Hockey
5 Shri Krishan Kumar Hooda Kabaddi
6 Shri Vijay Bhalchandra Munishwar Para Powerlifting
7 Shri Naresh Kumar Tennis
8 Shri Om Parkash Dahiya Wrestling

B. Regular Category

S. No. Name of the Coach Discipline
1 Shri Jude Felix Sebastian Hockey
2 Shri Yogesh Malviya Mallakhamb
3 Shri Jaspal Rana Shooting
4 Shri Kuldeep Kumar Handoo Wushu
5 Shri Gaurav Khanna Para Badminton

What is ‘Vaccine Nationalism’?


  • It is awarded for consistent outstanding performance for four years.
S. No. Name of the Sportsperson Discipline
1 Shri Atanu Das Archery
2 Ms. Dutee Chand Athletics
3 Shri Satwik Sairaj Rankireddy Badminton
4 Shri Chirag Chandrasekhar Shetty Badminton
5 Shri Vishesh Bhriguvanshi Basketball
6 Subedar Manish Kaushik Boxing
7 Ms. Lovlina Borgohain Boxing
8 Shri Ishant Sharma Cricket
9 Ms. Deepti Sharma Cricket
10 Shri Sawant Ajay Anant Equestrian
11 Shri Sandesh Jhingan Football
12 Ms. Aditi Ashok Golf
13 Shri Akashdeep Singh Hockey
14 Ms. Deepika Hockey
15 Shri Deepak Kabaddi
16 Shri Kale Sarika Sudhakar Kho Kho
17 Shri Dattu Baban Bhokanal Rowing
18 Ms. Manu Bhaker Shooting
19 Shri Saurabh Chaudhary Shooting
20 Ms. Madhurika Suhas Patkar Table Tennis
21 Shri Divij Sharan Tennis
22 Shri Shiva Keshavan Winter Sports
23 Ms. Divya Kakran Wrestling
24 Shri Rahul Aware Wrestling
25 Shri Suyash Narayan Jadhav Para Swimming
26 Shri Sandeep Para Athletics
27 Shri Manish Narwal Para Shooting


  • It is awarded for lifetime contribution to sports development and Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puraskar which is given to the corporate entities both in private and public sector and individuals who have played a visible role within the area of sports promotion and development.
S. No Name of the Sportsperson Discipline
1 Shri Kuldip Singh Bhullar Athletics
2 Ms. Jincy Philips Athletics
3 Shri Pradeep Shrikrishna Gandhe Badminton
4 Ms. Trupti Murgunde Badminton
5 Ms. N. Usha Boxing
6 Shri Lakha Singh Boxing
7 Shri Sukhvinder Singh Sandhu Football
8 Shri Ajit Singh Hockey
9 Shri Manpreet Singh Kabaddi
10 Shri J. Ranjith Kumar Para Athletics
11 Shri Satyaprakash Tiwari Para Badminton
12 Shri Manjeet Singh Rowing
13 Late Shri Sachin Nag Swimming
14 Shri Nandan P Bal Tennis
15 Shri Netarpal Hooda Wrestling


  • With these Sports Awards, the Ministry also recognises the spirit of adventure among the people of the country by bestowing with the award known as Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Award for 2019.
S. No. Name of the Sportsperson Category
1 Ms. Anita Devi Land Adventure
2 Col. Sarfraz Singh Land Adventure
3 Shri Taka Tamut Land Adventure
4 Shri Narender Singh Land Adventure
5 Shri Keval Hiren Kakka Land Adventure
6 Shri Satendra Singh Water Adventure
7 Shri Gajanand Yadava Air Adventure
8 Late Shri Magan Bissa Life Time Achievement


  • A trophy is also given to the overall top performing university in inter-university tournaments that is Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy.
1 Punjab University, Chandigarh


  • It is awarded to encourage the involvement of corporate and sports promotion boards in the development of sports in the country.
S. No. Category Entity recommended for Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar, 2020
1 Identification and Nurturing of Budding and Young Talent
  • Lakshya Institute
  • Army Sports Institute
2 Encouragement to sports through Corporate Social Responsibility Oil and Natural Gas Corporation (ONGC) Ltd.
3 Employment of sportspersons and sports welfare measures Air Force Sports Control Board
4 Sports for Development


International Institute of Sports Management (IISM)

For Free UPSC Study Material And Counselling From Experts: Click Here


Sharing is caring!

Download your free content now!


National Sports Award 2020: Know about the List of Awardees_50.1

Get Free Study Material

Download your free content now!

We have already received your details!

National Sports Award 2020: Know about the List of Awardees_60.1

Please click download to receive Adda247's premium content on your email ID

Incorrect details? Fill the form again here

Get Free Study Material

Thank You, Your details have been submitted we will get back to you.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *