Home   »   List of Lok Sabha Seats (State/UT)...

List of Lok Sabha Seats (State/UT) wise in India 2020

As we know that the members of Lok Sabha are composed of representatives of the people chosen by direct election on the basis of the adult suffrage. The members of the Lok Sabha are a part of the Indian parliament along with the President of India and the Rajya Sabha members. The members of Lok Sabha acts as a representative of the citizens of our country.

No Change in UPSC Exam Pattern and No Proposal to drop CSAT- Check Details here

Some facts about Lok Sabha

– It is the lower house of the Indian Parliament and is also known as the House of people.

– The maximum strength of the House that is envisaged by the Constitution is 552. That is maximum of 552 members can be elected for Lok Sabha, in which up to 530 members to represent the States, up to 20 members to represent the Union Territories and not more than two members of the Anglo-Indian Community to be nominated by the Hon’ble President, if, in his/her opinion, that community isn’t adequately represented within the House.

– To appoint the members of the Lok Sabha the election principle that is used is the Universal Adult Suffrage.

– The Speaker of the Lok Sabha is one among the member of the House. No proceedings can take place in his/her absence.

– In the Lok Sabha elections, a total of 543 constituencies take part in the Lok Sabha elections.

– The entire or total elective membership is distributed among the States in such how that the ratio between the number of seats allotted to every State and therefore the population of the State is, so far as practicable, the same for all States.

List of Chief Election Commissioners of India 2020

The eligibility criteria of a Lok Sabha member:

– He or she must be a citizen of India.

– The minimum age should be 25 years.

– He or she must not have a criminal record.

– He or she must be enrolled for elections from any part of the country.

– He or she must be educationally qualified under the law made by Parliament.

At present, the strength of the Lok Sabha in the Parliament is 545, in which 530 members are State representatives, 13 are from Union Territories and 2 are nominated by the President who belongs from Anglo-Indian Community.

List of Lok Sabha Seats (State/UT) wise 2020

Name of State Number of Constituencies
Andhra Pradesh 24
Assam 14
Bihar 39
Chhattisgarh 11
Gujarat 26
Haryana 10
Jharkhand 14
Karnataka 28
Kerala 20
Madhya Pradesh 29
Maharashtra 48
Odisha 21
Punjab 13
Rajasthan 25
Uttar Pradesh 80
Tamil Nadu 38
Telangana 17
West Bengal 42
Manipur 2
Goa 2
Arunachal Pradesh 2
Meghalaya 2
Himachal Pradesh 4
Mizoram 1
Nagaland 1
Sikkim 1
Tripura 2
Uttarakhand 5
Name of Union Territories Number of Constituencies
Andaman & Nicobar Islands 1
Chandigarh 1
Dadra & Nagar Haveli 1
Daman & Diu 1
Jammu & Kashmir 6
Lakshadweep 1
NCT of Delhi 7
Puducherry 1

Presidents of India: List from 1947 to 2020

Daily Gist of ‘The Hindu’, ‘PIB’, ‘Indian Express’ and Other Newspapers: 23 September, 2020

Sharing is caring!

Download your free content now!


List of 17th Lok Sabha Seats (State/UT) wise in India 2020_50.1

Download Upcoming Government Exam Calendar 2021

Download your free content now!

We have already received your details!

List of 17th Lok Sabha Seats (State/UT) wise in India 2020_60.1

Please click download to receive Adda247's premium content on your email ID

Incorrect details? Fill the form again here

Download Upcoming Government Exam Calendar 2021

Thank You, Your details have been submitted we will get back to you.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *