Home   »   List of Chief Ministers (CM) in...

List of Chief Ministers (CM) in India 2020 and Some Key Facts

Chief Minister is the ‘elected’ head of the government in a state of India. The executive authority lies with the Chief Minister. According to the Constitution of India, a Governor is the head of the State and Chief Minister is the ‘de facto’ head of that particular state. The term of office for Chief Ministers of India is for a maximum of five years but there is no limit to the number of terms a person can serve as Chief Minister of India.

As per the Indian Constitution, in everyday administration, the Chief Minister is assisted by the Council of Ministers which consists of cabinet ministers, deputy ministers, and others. The Chief Minister is appointed by and sworn in by the Governor. According to Article 164 of the Indian Constitution, the Chief Minister shall be appointed by the governor. But this does not mean that the governor will appoint or free to appoint anyone as the Chief Minister.

List of Chief Ministers (CM) in India 2020 and Some Key Facts_40.1

UPSC 2021 Online Coaching Classes | Bilingual GS Foundation Batch

State Wise List of Chief Ministers in India 2020 is as follows:

State Chief Ministers Political Party
Andhra Pradesh Shri YS Jagan Mohan Reddy YSR Congress Party
Arunachal Pradesh Shri Pema Khandu Bharatiya Janata Party
Assam Shri Sarbananda Sonowal Bharatiya Janata Party
Bihar Shri Nitish Kumar Janata Dal (United)
Chhattisgarh Shri Bhupesh Baghel Indian National Congress
Delhi (NCT) Shri Arvind Kejriwal Aam Aadmi Party
Goa Shri Pramod Sawant Bharatiya Janata Party
Gujarat Shri Vijaybhai R. Rupani Bharatiya Janata Party
Haryana Shri Manohar Lal Khattar Bharatiya Janata Party
Himachal Pradesh Shri Jairam Thakur Bharatiya Janata Party
Jharkhand Shri Hemant Soren Jharkhand Mukti Morcha
Karnataka Sri B. S. Yediyurappa Bharatiya Janata Party
Kerala Shri Pinarayi Vijayan Communist Party of India (Marxist)
Madhya Pradesh Shri Shivraj Singh Chouhan Bharatiya Janta Party
Maharashtra Shri Uddhav Thackeray Shiv Sena
Manipur Shri N. Biren Singh Bharatiya Janata Party
Meghalaya Shri Conrad Kongkal Sangma National People’s Party
Mizoram Shri Pu Zoramthanga           Mizo National Front
Nagaland Shri Neiphiu Rio Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party
Odisha Shri Naveen Patnaik Biju Janata Dal
Puducherry (UT) Shri. V. Narayanasamy Indian National Congress
Punjab Shri Capt. Amarinder Singh Indian National Congress
Rajasthan Shri Ashok Gehlot Indian National Congress
Sikkim Prem Singh Tamang Sikkim Krantikari Morcha
Tamil Nadu Thiru Edappadi K. Palaniswami All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
Telangana Shri K Chandrasekhar Rao Telangana Rashtra Samithi
Tripura Shri Biplab Kumar Deb Bharatiya Janata Party
Uttar Pradesh Shri Yogi Aditya Nath Bharatiya Janata Party
Uttarakhand Shri Trivendra Singh Rawat Bharatiya Janata Party
West Bengal Km. Mamata Banerjee All India Trinamool Congress

List of Chief Election Commissioners of India 2020

Some Key Facts

– The oldest Chief Minister in India is from Himachal Pradesh Virbhadra Singh.

– Sikkim’s Pawan Kumar Chamling has the longest incumbency; he is serving since December 1994 for 22 years.

– The youngest state Chief Minister of India is from Arunachal Pradesh namely Pema Khandu.

– In the history of independent India, the first woman Chief Minister was Sucheta Kriplani of the Indian National Congress (INC).

– Mayawati was the first Dalit Chief Minister of any Indian state. She was from the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP).

– The shortest-term as a Chief Minister was served by Nadendla Bhaskara Rao. He remained the CM of Andhra Pradesh for a very brief period of only 31 days in 1984.

– The only female Chief Minister to lead her government for three consecutive terms in any state of independent India is Sheila Dikshit of the INC. She remained the CM of Delhi for a continuous term from 1998 to 2013.

– C N Annadurai from Tamil Nadu was the first Chief Minister who died in office.

– The only woman Chief Minister to have remained in office for a mere term of 23 days is Janaki Ramachandran of AIADMK.

– Syeda Anwara Taimur, the first Muslim woman to become the Chief Minister of any state in India.

Presidents of India: List from 1947 to 2020

UPSC Prelims Syllabus 2021: General Studies and CSAT for CSE


Sharing is caring!

Download your free content now!


List of Chief Ministers (CM) in India 2020 and Some Key Facts_60.1

Download Upcoming Government Exam Calendar 2021

Download your free content now!

We have already received your details!

List of Chief Ministers (CM) in India 2020 and Some Key Facts_70.1

Please click download to receive Adda247's premium content on your email ID

Incorrect details? Fill the form again here

Download Upcoming Government Exam Calendar 2021

Thank You, Your details have been submitted we will get back to you.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *