Home   »   List of Chief Election Commissioners of...

List of Chief Election Commissioners of India 2020

The Election Commission of India is headed by the Chief Election Commissioner. It is an election conducting body in India. It conducts election for the centre, state legislature, President and Vice President. In Article 324 of the Indian Constitution Powers and functions of the Election Commission of India are listed. President appoints the Chief Election Commissioner and can only be voted out by 2/3 of the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha members together.

The salary of the Chief Election Commissioner is the same as that of the Supreme Court Judge. The tenure of Chief Election Commissioner is of 6 years or 65 years of age, whichever is earlier. Usually, the Chief Election Commissioner of India is a member of the Indian Civil Service and mostly from the Indian Administrative Service.

On 2 December 2018, Shri Sunil Arora assumed the office as the 23rd Chief Election Commissioner of India succeeding Shri Om Prakash Rawat.

National Recruitment Agency (NRA): Salient Features, Advantages and Key Facts

About Shri Sunil Arora

He was born on 13 April, 1956. He is a retired 1980 batch IAS officer of the Rajasthan cadre. He has held top positions in various government departments and ministries. He had been the Information and Broadcasting Secretary, and Secretary within the Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship. He has worked in ministries like Finance, Textiles and Planning Commission. During 1999-2002, he also served as Joint Secretary in the Ministry of Civil Aviation and CMD, Indian Airlines for five years (two years as additional charge and three years as full charge). Apart from the district postings in Dholpur, Alwar, Nagaur and Jodhpur in Rajasthan, he was Secretary to the Chief Minister during 1993-1998 and CM Principal Secretary (2005-2008). He had handled Information and Public Relations (IPR), Industries and Investment Departments also.

Do you know?

– The first woman to become the Chief Election Commissioner of India was V.S Ramadevi.

– Sukumar Sen is the first Chief Election Commissioner of India.

– Governor appoints the State Election Commissioner and not the President.

– Important Articles of the Indian Constitution related to the Election Commission are: Article 324, Article 325, Article 326, Article 327, Article 328, Article 329.

– During the 10th annual meeting of FEMBoSA held in New Delhi on 24 January 2020, Mr Sunil Arora has taken over the new Chair of Forum of the Election Management Bodies of South Asia (FEMBoSA) for the term 2020, from outgoing Chair Mr K.M.Nurul Huda, CEC of Bangladesh.

List of Chief Election Commissioners of India


Sukumar Sen 21 March, 1950 – 19 December, 1958
K.V.K. Sundaram 20 December,1958 – 30 September,1967
S. P. Sen Verma 1 October, 1967 – 30 September,1972
Dr Nagendra Singh 1 October, 1972 – 6 February, 1973
T. Swaminathan 7 February, 1973 – 17 June, 1977
S.L. Shakdhar 18 June, 1977 – 17 June, 1982
R.K Trivedi 18 June, 1982 – 31 December, 1985
R.V.S. Peri Sastri 1 January,1986 – 25 November,1990
Smt V.S. Rama Devi 26 November,1990 – 11 December,1990
T.N Seshan 12 December,1990 – 11 December,1996
M.S Gill 12 December,1996 – 13 June, 2001
J.M. Lyngdoh 14 June, 2001 – 7 February, 2004
T. S. Krishnamurthy 8 February, 2004 – 15 May, 2005
B. B. Tandon 16 May, 2005 – 29 June, 2006
N. Gopalaswami 30 June, 2006 – 20 April, 2009
Navin Chawla 21 April, 2009 – 29 July, 2010
S.Y. Qureshi 30 July, 2010 – 10 June, 2012
V. S. Sampath 11 June, 2012 – 15 January, 2015
H.S.Brahma 16 January, 2015 – 18 April, 2015
Dr. Nasim Zaidi 19 April, 2015 – 5 July, 2017
Shri A K Joti 06 July, 2017 – 22 January, 2018
Om Prakash Rawat 23 January, 2018 – 1 December, 2018
Sunil Arora 2 December, 2018 – Incumbent






































Read more about Election Commission of India 

UPSC PRELIMS 2020 Batch | Bilingual | Live Classes






Sharing is caring!

Download your free content now!


List of Chief Election Commissioners of India 2020_50.1

Download Upcoming Government Exam Calendar 2021

Download your free content now!

We have already received your details!

List of Chief Election Commissioners of India 2020_60.1

Please click download to receive Adda247's premium content on your email ID

Incorrect details? Fill the form again here

Download Upcoming Government Exam Calendar 2021

Thank You, Your details have been submitted we will get back to you.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *